Selena Gomez Brings An End To A Heart-Rending Chapter Of Her Life With A Piano-Driven Ballad

Neha Dubey
bellethewinebae
Published in
3 min readOct 23, 2019

In two months you replaced us

Like it was easy

Made me think I deserved it

And with this, ladies and gentlemen, Selena Gomez seems to have bid the final adieu to her toxic on-and-off relationship with Justin Bieber. The Wolves singer has finally returned and how! Lose You To Love Me — her latest single feels like a monologue of her thoughts, a poignant and soul-touching glimpse of her personal life over the past year, especially since her final break up with pop phenomenon and now the proud husband of Hailey Bieber, Justin Bieber.

“Thank you all for standing by my side through the highs and lows. I couldn’t do it without you all and I can’t wait to start my next adventure with you,” she wrote on Twitter a few hours ago.

For Selena and Jelena fandom on Twitter, it was the moment of emotional outbursts. It didn’t take long for Twitteratis to speculate that it was indeed Justin Bieber whom Selena had to lose to fall in love with herself. Gomez uses her beautiful words to reflect how she recuperated at the end of her relationship, which again is an indication, as suggested by fans, that the lyrics are meant for her phase with Bieber.

The “two months” in her song doesn’t appear like a mere coincidence. Gomez and Bieber reportedly broke up in the month of April following which the latter was spotted on his first date with an old flame, Hailey Baldwin, and two months later, the duo was engaged.

The piano-driven ballad looks like a predictably raw affair as we notice Selena bringing an end to a heart-rending chapter of her life and discovering peace in the process. The video, which is said to have been shot on the iPhone, is intimate and hits straight to the heart, as we watch Selena staring into the camera as she sings and smiles.

On YouTube, she wrote, “This song was inspired by many things that have happened in my life since releasing my last album. I want people to feel hope and to know you will come out the other side stronger and a better version of yourself.”

The 27-year-old Fetish singer sent social media into a frenzy last week when she announced her latest single by teasing her followers with a series of cryptic clues, cover art, and childhood pictures. Every post accompanied by what now we know as the snippets from her song.

During an appearance on Jimmy Fallon’s show, Gomez said, “I have to do, like, a few finishing things with [the album], but I’m just relieved,” she went on talking about finally being in her good place, “It took me four years now to even feel at a good place with this album, and it’s just because I had such huge moments that happened in my life personally that [it was like] how was I going to capture that and how was I actually going to feel good about what I was saying? So, I kept going and I’m relieved now.”

It is indeed a joy to watch her back on track in terms of emotional and mental health!

Welcome back, Selena!

--

--