The First Day of the Rest of my Life

Maxwell Iragu
BelMax
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2017

I’ll tell you right now, today isn’t it, that my good people was on my birthday, in April. So, I turned 29 this year and usually for the past few birthdays I have used this “special” day to reflect on my life. You know, what I have so far achieved, my failures and more Importantly my plans for the year ahead.

This time however I felt like there was a lot that I hadn’t yet achieved, and I do mean a lot. Just like every year, I would sit down and grab a book that I had written my to do list from the year before. I would mark off my achievements and note down my failures. I would then write another to do list for what I would want to achieve for the current year. This was a special birthday. This is the last one where I will be in my 20’s and would want to exit this decade with a bang. The next one will be my 30’s, and the pressure was mounting for me to make this one great. This time around I looked at my failure’s and frustrations and came to a decision, I’m going out on my own.

I’ve had an idea, for a while now, to start a software development firm whose main trade would be to offer data and service aggregation. E.g. mobile money aggregation to banks and networks. The main reason I’ve chosen this path is due to the high demand for such services and due to my vast experience in this industry. I have been studying the market and I believe I have something different and better to offer, with the recent demand for data I believe I can carve a niche for my Organization in this market.

I have had to search from within and without and calculate how to go about achieving this. I want to be my own boss. I want to run my own Organization. They say to be a good leader you need to learn how to follow and I have followed. I have been a software engineer for the past 7 years and I have gained invaluable skills in system, server, database and network administration as well as software development. My strength not only dwells in my technical abilities but also my abilities as a team leader and project manager. I have seen how a business is run, I have seen some of the mistakes made, closing of a client, pitching idea to partners and investors. I’ve got the will, technical skills and above all the discipline required to commit to this. I know this is not going to be an easy journey but my experience has equipped me with the skills required to do this and all I must do now is take the first step, grab this challenge by the horns and be committed.

--

--

Maxwell Iragu
BelMax
Editor for

C.T.O and co-founder of Belmax Inc, Technology enthusiast, coder and adventurer.