Image Description: Photo of a woman named Clarissa Mei standing outside, leaning against a pink wall and looking down. She’s wearing a dark long sleeve top, a denim skirt, and violet shaded sunglasses. Her hair is tied back in a ponytail.

Emerging on the GRID — Clarissa Mei

Christian
Belong Blog
Published in
4 min readJun 21, 2019

--

Music connects people in so many different ways, but getting a start in the industry is a notoriously tough gig. Here at Belong, we support GRID Series which is an artist development program that helps emerging musicians and strengthens communities through music.

The program’s array of knowledge, contacts and experience has been helping 2019 Series’ participant Clarissa Mei launch her career into the world of music. We cast a whole bunch of questions over to find out more about the up and coming talent!

Image Description: Black and white portrait photo of Clarissa, looking directly at the camera. Her hair is worn down, and her silhouette casts a shadow on the wall behind her. Below the photo the word ‘WOMAN’ is written in stylised script.

What was your childhood like?

Growing up with 2 brothers it wasn’t a boring childhood! I was born and raised in Western Sydney and grew up in Mount Druitt. I have a lot of fun family memories and some rough ones too. I grew up learning music from a young age, so I have vivid memories of always being at this music school which was almost like my second home at the time. My parents were very social in the Filipino community too, so I remember meeting a lot of different people and even singing at a lot of community events as a child.

Where do you go for inspiration?

The most inspiration I get is when I look within and have moments of self-reflection. That’s where I feel like the most authentic music comes from.

Who helped you along the journey to becoming a musician?

First and foremost, I owe a lot to my mum for putting me into singing and piano lessons at a young age! I’ve had so many teachers and mentors since high school that I’m so grateful for. From my music school teacher in my early days starting out, to my high school music teacher who inspired me to pursue music, to my singing teacher who helped me grow so much, and all the amazing friends in the industry right now who I consider to be great mentors!

What kind of music are you into?

Neo-soul, Jazz, Soul, Hip-Hop

Video Description: Clarissa performing her song ‘Woman’ live on an intimate stage, singing and playing a keyboard.

What does it mean to Belong?

Community is a huge thing for me, and I think belonging ties into that really well. Feeling like I’m part of a group and just having that human connection with others. When I’m surrounded by my communities that’s when I feel like I belong the most, I feel love, good energy, and support.

How do you celebrate diversity?

I celebrate diversity every time I put on a show or attend a show around Sydney. The musicians around me in my communities are already so diverse so to be able to create a space for me and my friends to perform live and connect with others comes naturally and I love celebrating that and showcasing that in the scene.

Diversity is so important especially for the younger ones coming up in the scene. Representation is a huge thing for me and I think for many others. To see many people from not just my own but from different backgrounds, cultures, communities on a stage or in a certain space shows that I am capable of being on that stage or being in that space too. By seeing someone that looks familiar or similar to themselves, it also shows the younger generation that they can do those kinds of things too which is inspiring and so important.

Image description: Instagram photo from Clarissa’s account. She is on behind a keyboard, facing the camera and singing.

What do you do with your downtime?

I low-key love gardening and have dreams of having my own fruits and veggies and other plants growing in my backyard! I also love to paint and play sports like volleyball, tennis, badminton and basketball.

How do you spend your time online?

I spend some time on Netflix, Social Media, etc. Having access to internet helps me stay connected and lets me share upload my music with the world.

If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be?

I would make an even slate in the world — no class systems, everyone would have the same amount of money, no discrimination in workplaces or any spaces — equality for all.

Check out Clarissa’s music on Spotify, including her new track ‘Woman’. If you’d like to find out more about grassroots music development, take a look at GRID Series.

--

--