Emerging on the GRID - ELAURA

Bridget Gourlay
Belong Blog
Published in
4 min readAug 26, 2020

--

Music veterans and successors dedicate their time and expertise to help develop and mentor emerging artists from outer suburbs of cities of Australia. Emi Nesvara Hernandez, also known as ELAURA, is one of the amazing GRID artists coming from Outer South East Melbourne.

ELAURA’S debut release ‘Kingdom’ came out of her participation in the GRID Series 2019. Since the program, she’s continued to put into practice the skills she developed via GRID. Most recently jumping on a feature track with rapper and producer, Jai Bates called ‘Tal Vez’. She takes some time with us to chat about her up and coming career.

What was your childhood like?

Growing up my parents would take us to Chile every two years, allowing us the experience to connect with our culture and visit our blood country. My heritage and culture were both life-giving and isolating. With Latino parents, and growing up in Australia, I felt I was between two worlds that I didn’t fully understand yet.

What is the inspiration behind your music?

The power of honesty. All the musicians that I deeply love in this world share their honest truth through their songs. It inspires me to write from the heart. It reminds me that the more I connect with the songs I write, the more my audience will.

Who helped you along the journey to becoming a musician?

GRID Series is the highlight of my music career so far. I am forever grateful for the opportunity from the beautiful team at GRID who helped me get ‘Kingdom’ off the ground. As well as guide me in the right direction to spread my message and music. ALPHAMAMA has been a crucial mentor and has seen me through ELAURA’s birth. Also, my beautiful Abuelita and mama, for holding the space with grace and humbleness of those who came before us.

What kind of music are you into?

I love me some Oshun, Moonchild, Lianne La Havas, Erykah Badu. I’ve recently been loving some Reggaeton by Latina queen, Paloma Mami.

What does it mean to Belong?

I definitely have a story of deep pain and grief around identity and belonging in Australia and Chile. Sometimes I wake up as the little Latina Emi who is scared of parts of herself that she can’t comprehend. I didn’t grow up with any Latinos in my community. Instead of learning traditional dances and absorbing an affectionate Chilean culture with music and dance, I had to assimilate to Australian culture.

How do you celebrate diversity?

In the Melbourne music scene, Latinos may also fear there isn’t a space for their creative endeavours. To show solidarity, I wear my Chilean features and language with pride. Singing in my mother-tongue, Spanish is always a celebration of my beautiful culture that was passed onto me.

I’m also part of ALPHAMAMA’s rising femme record label, God Queen. An inclusive community of women artists, entrepreneurs, educators, and activists dedicated to individual and collective expansion.

How do you spend your time online?

I spend my time online attempting to translate my heart and vision in aesthetics and words. I love connecting with my beautiful social media supporters.

If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be?

I think that the world could start with teaching children transitioning into adulthood to use more emotional, sexual, and cultural embodiment as they navigate their journey. As well as proper education and acknowledgment of the dark history of Australia, and First Nations Peoples. There needs to be space for an understanding of how white supremacy lives subconsciously in our everyday lives and how we benefit from capitalist systems.

If you do, who are the people that inspire your art, and why?

Any artist creating from the heart, expressing vulnerably and delivering their message with grace, is an artist that inspires me. Musicians weaving sonic elements to tell a story of pain, hope, or freedom reminds me of why I create art- for the transformation, healing, and rehabilitation that music can gift humanity.

Some of the queens giving their medicine in the most divine ways are Emma Volard, Abi Flynn, Pia Nesvara, Alice Night, Rara Zulu, Gaia Scarf, Tiana Khasi, Elle Shimada and many more. I hope that in our time, more artists will deliver their unique authenticity so we can walk together to a brighter future.

Check out ELAURA’s music on Spotify, including her beautiful track ‘Kingdom’. If you’d like to find out more about Grass Roots Indie Development, take a look at GRID Series.

The Belong logo

Belong is Australia’s first carbon neutral mobile and internet provider. Explore our plans.

The Carbon Thumbprint app on an iPhone in someone’s hand.

Find out your estimated CO2 impact from your mobile data usage by downloading the Carbon Thumbprint app.

--

--

Bridget Gourlay
Belong Blog

My background might be too dense to summarise, but it’s eclectic for sure. Currently, a Social Editor here at Belong.