Kat in the music studio with head phones on, listening as she holds her hands up about to clap

Emerging on the GRID — Kat Waria

Bridget Gourlay
Belong Blog
Published in
4 min readAug 6, 2020

--

Music veterans and successors dedicate their time and expertise to help develop and mentor emerging artists from outer suburbs of cities of Australia. Proud Woppaburra and Badu Island woman, Katherine Waria is one GRID’s Outer South West Brisbane artists who sought some time to answer a whole bunch of questions about her up and coming career.

What was your childhood like?

When I look back on my childhood all I can do is smile. I won’t lie — I definitely went through my struggles. I experienced everything from learning difficulties, struggles with fitting in, even experiencing racism. However, when I sit and reflect, the first thing that comes to mind is all the time spent hanging out with my family. We would re-enact movie scenes; we’d be singing, dancing and laughing till we cried. I think of spending Sundays folding laundry with my mum which may not sound appealing to many, but that’s quality time with her, a keepsake I’ll have for life.

What is the inspiration behind your music?

Inspiration for my music can come from all different circumstances at any point in time. But it’s always my intention to be truthful- especially when it comes to my lyrics. I can only write what I know whether I present that verbatim or in an abstract manner that requires an analysis for someone to understand. But at the core, it will always be my truth.

Who helped you along the journey to becoming a musician?

My entire family has been monumentally supportive of my journey to be a musician, especially my mum. I wouldn’t be where I am without her unconditional love and support. Whether it was taking me to auditions, promoting and showing up to my gigs, supporting me financially while I completed my performance degrees; mum has always been there.

What kind of music are you into?

I know this may sound like a cop-out, but there isn’t a genre of music I wouldn’t listen to. However, I’m a 90’s kid through and through. I’m grateful I grew up in that decade because you really had the best of everything from pop, RnB, hip hop to grunge and rock, all of which I love.

What does it mean to Belong?

To be completely honest, I’m still on my journey of figuring that out. I think everyone’s idea of what it means to belong is different. But where I’m at in life right now, to belong means to be at peace. To feel calm and to know with certainty, that I’m doing the right thing by me and those around me.

How do you celebrate diversity?

I like to think I celebrate diversity by buying, watching or streaming music, films, books, apparel, artworks etc. created by people from all different backgrounds. I like to educate myself on social issues that go beyond my community. I have conversations and listen to podcasts by people who may have opposing views to mine. I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m trying and continuously learning to find out what it means to celebrate diversity.

How do you spend your time online?

My time online is usually spent researching. Friends and family will see me on YouTube and think ‘that’s not research’, but I swear it is. I’m studying the live performances, artist interviews, BTS of my favourite music clips, tv shows and films. Choreography videos are huge on YouTube and are great for staging, lighting, and ensemble ideas. Not to mention, each social media platform has its own algorithms and analysis features to study.

If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be?

Equal access to a quality education. I believe knowledge is power. It’s no secret that there are people within our global society who purposely restrict some people’s access to education. I believe whether it’s out of greed and/or fear, restricting someone’s ability to gain a greater understanding of the world we live in reduces the urge to ask questions. Sometimes asking questions can be seen as a threat, especially to those with or in power.

If you do, who are the people that inspire your art, and why?

My art is inspired by my surroundings. I find I’m most creative or inspired when I am out living life. Experiencing life which allows me to (as I said earlier) write what I know. Admittedly, there are moments when I’m at a loss for words; I don’t feel creative because I don’t feel inspired. But even as an artist myself, I look to other art forms to help reignite my spirit. Whether that’s watching films, live music performances, choreography videos, or visiting art galleries — all these art forms trigger a response; good, bad or indifferent in their own way. They enable me to break down the creative block, feeling renewed and inspired to start something new.

Check out Katherine’s music on Spotify, including her stunning track ‘Love Isn’t’. For a closer look into the artist, check out her doco by GRID. If you’d like to find out more about Grass Roots Indie Development, take a look at GRID Series.

The Belong logo

Belong is Australia’s first carbon neutral mobile and internet provider. Explore our plans.

The Carbon Thumbprint app on an iPhone in someone’s hand.

Find out your estimated CO2 impact from your mobile data usage by downloading the Carbon Thumbprint app.

--

--

Bridget Gourlay
Belong Blog

My background might be too dense to summarise, but it’s eclectic for sure. Currently, a Social Editor here at Belong.