4 Steps on How to Handle the Breakup Process and Move on

How to navigate the landscape of a breakup

Jennifer Pitts
BELOVED

--

By Vlada Karpovich from Pexels

Due to my lack of vulnerability in my previous relationships, I decided to tell my partner how I felt about him during dinner one night.

By allowing myself to express my feelings, I would get the answers I needed to know if he saw a future with us or felt the same way.

The relationship was going at a natural pace. Since we were past the six-month mark, I needed to set boundaries to ensure I was using my time effectively if I continued to invest in him.

"I wanted to tell you I loved you when you were fucking me the other night, but I stopped myself; I just thought it was important that you knew."

As I continued the conversation, I could feel him disconnecting. He shut down, got uncomfortable and mentioned he was tired.

Rejection at its finest.

His glassy blue eyes were shut as we lay in bed. My anxiety kept me from falling asleep. I know this feeling all too well, I thought to myself.

Another unavailable man. How did I get here?

As the months unravelled, so did our relationship, and with the familiar vibe I'd felt so many times before I knew it, I found myself preparing for the…

--

--