August 23, 1983: When Our Story Began

Just Robyne
BELOVED
Published in
14 min readJan 4, 2024

--

This is the beginning of our story. The day that was written by the stars, the moon, the universe and the heavens above. A story of love at first and forever sight. It is written from my eyes, my heart and my soul. A love story as true and real as the day is blue. Unconditional love until death did we part on February 12, 2022.

Anthony & Robyne Year 1987
Anthony & Robyne in 1987

When I opened my eyes this morning on August 23, 1983, it seemed like a regular Saturday. It was 7:30 A.M., and I had to get up for work and be there by 9:00 A.M. It wasn’t a challenging task to get ready, I was a lifeguard at the apartment complex directly across from where I lived with my mom and my youngest sister.

As I went to the kitchen to pour a cup of coffee and make something to eat, I noticed it was only four days till my 14th birthday. I would soon start an all-girls Catholic High School in Center City Philadelphia, my hometown, where I was born and raised and was reasonably popular among friends I have had since nursery school.

I always liked my birthday and would begin to announce the upcoming date precisely one month before, on July 27 each year. I never expected anything in the expensive area of gifts, I honestly didn’t expect any birthday gifts.

Oddly and for some inexplicable reason, however, when I noticed the date on the calendar in the kitchen, I got a…

--

--

Just Robyne
BELOVED

AUGUST 27, 2024 HAPPY 3rd BIRTHDAY to my Granddaughter WILLOW. ILOVEYOU & also Happy Birthday to ME, I am just a tad bit older then Willow LOL Enjoy ur day.