Could Grief Be the Gift You Never Knew You Needed?

Love, loss and living happily ever after . . . after all

Veronica Monet
BELOVED

--

Dejected woman squatting on a bridge hanging her head with hand to her forehead outdoors on a cold day.
Photo source: 123rf.com

Every story has a beginning, a middle and an end. And yet, when we enter the adrenalin-fueled adventure of falling in love, time stands still while romantic love bends reality with our hopes for happily ever after.

Or . . . that’s how it is for me.

But then what do I know?

Despite the hundreds of lovers who have blessed my years with shared laughter and an equal measure of tears, I have only fallen in love twice.

My first love story spanned decades while traversing mind-boggling worlds of despair and redemption. We fell in love over a cocaine-dusted mirror. That was every bit as disastrous a beginning as you could imagine — those momentary euphorias predictably leading to anguished and dangerous outbursts of violence and rage.

But as the 80’s bled into the 90’s, recovery brought a life-saving rebirth replete with two toddlers, a dog, and a cat in a suburban house. Life was beginning anew, and my personal power surged as I turned fifteen minutes of fame into seventeen years sitting in front of television cameras shouting my truth to millions. I was on a mission to save the world from misogyny parading as prudery. My husband had no such…

--

--

Veronica Monet
BELOVED

Author, Creative Consultant for award winning documentary, IFS Informed Coach, Certified Sexologist. I write about s-e-x, shame, relationships, trauma, healing.