Dearest William

Please let go of my heart

Alecia Kennedy
BELOVED

--

Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

April 2, 2024

Dearest William,

I am writing to inform you that melancholy has once again descended upon my soul. I had thought this plague of emotion had left me once and for all, but today I heard a knock at the door, and I couldn’t resist the temptation to answer it.

As soon as I let in the thoughts of you, they overwhelmed me and brought me back to that time so long ago, when you sat on my front porch swing after a long and tiring trip and tried to let me down easy. You tried to explain how you could love someone and still not be able to be there for them. My ears heard you, but my heart wouldn’t let the words take hold in the fragile soil of my consciousness. If I acknowledged the truth of the words you spoke, then they might plant themselves there and bear fruit.

Instead, I said something like “let’s just take it one day at a time, we don’t have to figure it out now” but I knew this was the beginning of the end. If we had been characters in a play read by high school seniors in an English Literature class that scene would have been the foreshadowing of things to come. It was so very obvious.

It took two more trips and six more months before you gathered the courage to try again. This time you succeeded. You fully succeeded in breaking my…

--

--