How To Tell When You Aren’t Finished Healing

All it took was one email

Alecia Kennedy
BELOVED

--

A crack in the road patched with a band-aid.
Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

I had been thinking about how I’d respond for months because I knew that one day, he’d reach back out to me. I could feel it in my gut. Some days I’d wake up and he’d be inexplicably on my mind after weeks of not thinking of him at all. In those moments, I just knew that he was thinking about me too. As if we were joined by some unbreakable cord.

All my important exes (plus one casual relationship that really surprised me) have circled back around for one reason or another. It generally goes something like this — they apologize and I graciously accept the apology. Or they tell me about their life and the fact that their mother still asks about me fifteen years later. Yes, it can be that long. They tell me that I was the best person they ever had in their life or that they miss me or that they made a huge mistake. Once I was the caller, apologizing for a particularly callous break-up months after the fact. So I understand. I’ve been on both ends of the situation.

When I am the receiver of the communication, I accept any apologies, wish them a good life and hit send. Or hang up. Or block them, depending on the mode of communication and the level of stalker vibe. I don’t do the whole getting back with your ex thing because I have an excellent memory and I always remember why we…

--

--