Has star ‘trans kid’ Avery Jackson detransitioned?

The “National Geographic” cover girl remains a study in change

Jonathan Poletti
I blog God.

--

In 2017, a transgender child from Missouri appeared on the national scene. Avery Jackson seemed proof that some kids just know they’re the opposite sex.

It was an iconic cover of National Geographic. It’s a strange story? Less a transgender one, apparently, than a story of continuing change.

Avery Jackson on National Geographic subscriber cover, January 2017

The Jackson family was Southern Baptist.

The religious details interested me. “I’m a conservative Southern Baptist Republican from Alabama,” as Debi, Avery’s mother, would say.

They were conservative Christians and had to buck their religion in order to save the life of their transgender daughter. That was the story.

In a Southern Baptist context, this would be a story of a boy who was relinquishing the divine masculinity and entering the disfavored category of ‘female’—and a barren female.

But how religious were the Jacksons?

As I look over what they’ve posted online, I’m puzzled to not see a church and a pastor. I can’t seem to find so much…

--

--