The Bible is for Yogis

Christianity conceals how “Eastern” the scriptures really are

Jonathan Poletti
I blog God.

--

Christians haven’t been so fond of yoga. Isn’t it occult? Isn’t it Hindu? That would be the talk. Churches regularly oppose yoga practices in schools and communites.

But when I started to do it, yoga felt…spiritual? In a way church never did. I could focus on being there. In church I was to reflect on being a ‘sinner’ and judged. In yoga class I was asked to open and become.

I wasn’t so sure it wasn’t somehow Christlike. It felt like a connection lurked, just one the religion wouldn’t reveal.

When I started to read Bible scholarship, I realized the case against yoga was pretty thin.

The anti-yoga Bible reference most often cited is a ban, in Leviticus 20:6, on . . . sorcery.

And there was quite a bit more material that I was surprised by, and for which the only context I had would be . . . yoga class? Like the lotuses.

I didn’t know the Bible is full of lotuses until reading a 2005 paper by W. Derek Suderman, “Modest or Magnificent? Lotus versus Lily in Canticles,” which claims that…

--

--