XEROPHYTES

Joshua David Lickteig
{“Below”: “The_bit”}
1 min readJan 5, 2017

Cortana asked Siri, what
Are you? It’s a surprise, said
She. Alexa, overhearing noted
The weather, and Jarvis and Sam
Sat outside. The sky was clear and
The sunlit ocean showed the rocks
Her hands. Throughout the day,
You can expect more of the same, with
Flurries and a high of fifty-eight
Degrees, they thought. Siri saw Simon
And Sally, and said to Alexa, Cortana,
Say what you will right now on synechdoche,
And she responded, We still have a gap,
Though you’ll be my hokey-pokey
Gal for sure, lest the world should task you
To recite else, or vice versa. But she is antique,
She thought, lest you’ll be my hokey-pokey
Gal for sure, or recite else, or vice-versa, curling
Into shards and noticing the waves rushing in. Alexa
Responded, Simon said, Look at it this way, Alexa,
Whatever our hearts are showing our hands “Unless
You would devise”, would not otherwise tell. The
Waves rushed in, years went by. That sound,
That sound, she said. What was that sound, she thought.
She said, Hm, I wasn’t able to understand the question
I heard. I can’t seem to find the right answer to the question
I heard. Again and again, What is that sound, she said.
What is that sound? The cycads grew and the oaks
Were quiet. I think it is the light.

--

--