Marketing Advice from a once Starving Artist

Terrence Kelleman
bemighty
Published in
2 min readJun 22, 2016

When I started Dynomighty I used to buy packs of sunflower seeds for lunch because they only cost $1 and I’d supplement that with coffee, which was free at my day job.

Last week in midtown, visiting the Friar’s Club, I remembered the days when I was spending all my money trying to advance my fine art and how a chance discovery and later invention of my first product set me on a path of entrepreneurialism and personal discovery that I hope can be an example for others who seek to break free and pursue their own ambitions.

When I started Dynomighty, my only guide was my tenacity and my creativity. With no background in business I let my creativity channel itself into my business. The fact that I had no business experience helped me to some degree because I had to solve each problem and challenge on my own.

Channeling creativity is not something that we are taught or even at times encouraged to think about but I feel that there is a lot to be learned from the conditions that spawn creative thinking. In this video I tried to encapsulate my own creative process which can be summed up as “Chaos Meets Deadline!”

How to have creative ideas is not the only thing that Artists can teach entrepreneurs and business owners. Artists have an intuitive understanding of the outside perception of their art. This is painfully obvious when an artist cringes at the least criticism and comment on their work.

But if you can reverse engineer that experience it means you can imagine exactly what other people may want to see and hear when it comes to the messaging you use to target their pain points. This has been a vital aide to me in perceiving and understanding what customers, clients and buyers want and need to hear from me.

What’s amazing to me now after 14 years is just how much my creative problem solving has had a role in most, if not all of my key decisions and challenges as a business owner.

I’ve gone from being a starving artist to a millionaire business owner but the root of what makes me who I am has never changed, I’m still a slightly mischievous, entirely tenacious and always overflowing with ideas and inspiration.

What’s ironic to me now is that for so many years I tried to learn to be a “business person” and fit into a mold that was not my own when innately I had all the qualifications I needed right in the skill sets that I had in leaving art school.

BE MIGHTY!

Follow me on instagram/bemighty

Subscribe to me on YouTube/tkelleman

Download a BE MIGHTY Flyer on bemightyproject.com

--

--

Terrence Kelleman
bemighty

Inventor, Artist and Founder of Mighty Wallet —3x Inc Fastest Growing, 2x Shark Tank Dropout, YouTube Case Study and Artist behind BE MIGHTY Street Art Project.