Web Components: Building web tools for Future Dion

Dion Almaer
Ben and Dion
Published in
1 min readSep 2, 2016

I see the juxtaposition that many have with Web Components. If I am using React today I have a community and ecosystem of components available to me. The interop story may not hold as much importance as I get my job done today.

Partly there is a chicken and egg problem where we are still in somewhat early days with rich web components (although there are plenty). As we see browsers shipping “V1features I hope to see many more people wade into the warm water.

One of the reasons that I want to build or use web components where appropriate is that I want to add to my toolbox. I have built web applications using: Dojo, Mootools, Prototype, jQuery, Backbone, Thorax, and React over the years.

No one framework has been constant, but using a great framework has been. I would love to have been able to bring that killer Dojo component that I slaved over with me to my React app of today.

I faithfully bring ~/bin with me through my career. New opportunities come up that sometimes make tools redundant, and I often enjoy rm’ing a tool.

When I think about Future Dion I sometimes think:

“Wouldn’t it be nice to have that option with more of my web libraries?”

And then I think of how this explodes to an ecosystem. How would the component landscape look if we weren’t all rebuilding our own houses?

--

--