100 Mindset definitions: A critical review

Ash Buchanan
Benefit Mindset
Published in
2 min readApr 23, 2024

Mindset is a term that many people are quick to use, yet few define what they mean by the term. The small few that do define the term, often do so in ways that differ from other definitions that exist. Consequently, it can be difficult to discern precisely what a mindset is, and why it is an important dimension of our lives and the life of society.

In this new paper, I critically review 100 diverse definitions of mindset, and I share a systems view of the meaning I understand is being expressed by all of them. You are invited to study these definitions so that you can broaden and deepen your understanding of mindset from multiple perspectives.

New Paper: What is mindset? 100 definitions from the field.

As far as I am aware, this is the first time such a diverse collection of mindset definitions has been collated and critically reviewed. It is my hope that this paper will raise awareness around different perspectives in the field of mindset, and support the emergence of new paradigms of mindset psychology and practice.

This paper is also a supporting document for my upcoming dissertation on the psychology of mindset. If you would like to stay in the loop of this body of work, consider subscribing to my newsletter.

--

--

Ash Buchanan
Benefit Mindset

Benefit Mindset I Wellbeing Design I Regenerative Development