Jo Ann Harris, Writer of Daily Musings
Benevolent
Published in
4 min readMar 26, 2018

--

WHAT IS TAPPING?

It all started with work, six years ago, I was in a dead end job, burnt out, unhappy, under a new manager that had to know for himself if I was worth keeping around. I had been there ten years already, so I felt I did not have to prove myself. I could not do that again. I felt I was more capable and qualified than that. I felt I had more latitude than a newbie.

That was just not me anymore and I could not be that person for anybody. A change had to be made. I either had to get his agreement with all the systems, deadlines, procedures, daily tasks, programs that I had set up over those ten years or if not I had to quit and do something else.

I was anxious every day I went to work. I questioned every move I made, every decision I made, and every thought I had. Each day I was waiting to hear, “You’re Fired!”

Who can live or work like that? It was such madness.

At home, I had twin teenage boys I was raising alone that were going through what teenage boys usually go through — bad company, laziness, gaming, sleeping too much, late nights, possible drugs, drinking, girls coming on to them making them confused, questionable decisions, rudeness, rash decisions, intolerance of Mom, acting out at school.

You know crazy brain stuff. Life was bleak so I knew I needed to work on me so that I could make things better in all areas of my life. Especially, I needed to take control of my anxiety and depression.

That’s the killer of life.

I am not the type of person that asks for help but decided to put away my pride and go to a wonderful psychologist nearby. I told her about my problems. We talked as usual and she gave me some tools to use to fend off all the negative energy I was absorbing from many areas of my life. After I had been seeing her for awhile and she knew I trusted her, she pulled out a diagram of a person with arrows pointing to certain locations on the body.

She gave me a sheet of paper that had a diagram on it.

EFT Tapping Points

It said, “EFT — Emotional Freedom Technique” otherwise know as Tapping.

Yeah! I was open to that so she showed me how to do it.

After we had gone through the procedure a few times, I felt better and calmer. “We may be onto something here,” I thought. So I took the diagram home and used it and used it. Each day before work in the car, I used it. At my lunch break, I used it. On the way home, I used it.

I felt as if a huge boulder had been lifted from my shoulders and I could think again. I also felt less hurt by circumstances at work and how I was being treated at home. Six years, from the time they were 13-years-old to 19-years-old, treating me as if I didn’t exist anymore. That’s tough to take when you love your kids so much and you just want to keep them safe.

The Tapping Solution- Emotional Freedom Technique changed my life!

I used tapping many times and it helped me so much you wouldn’t believe I was the same person. I also decided to stop food binging and TV watching late into the night. My boys and I started to hang out more. We walked the dog more, they skateboarded and I got more exercise as well. We went to movies together.

They suddenly didn’t feel so standoffish and then we started to hug again. That was one of the things I missed more than anything. You know when you have twins it is so special. When your children take their love away you feel lost and frantic. Somehow, it all came back and they started to be happier.

They didn’t hang out with their “friends” anymore at all. They realized they did not want to end up in jail as a few of their cohorts had.

So I was getting thinner, braver and more able to think straight about what I had to do to save my own life and my families’ life. After a long thought-filled discussion with myself I put in my resignation and I made plans to leave that job, take my kids, my dog, and my belongings and move to South Florida.

That was such a huge decision for me.

I never do things like that, but I felt I did not have a choice. Things had to change and we all had to get stronger and abler in our lives.

The Tapping Solution really helped me to make this decision. And I have never looked back.

Jo Ann Harris is an author, parent, book devotee, writer, copywriter, and film fanatic. She is an autodidact who learns about everything and rows her own boat. She grew up and worked in Atlanta, Georgia and lived there sixty years. She writes articles about love, hope, personal life stories, advice and poems. She is a published author with an article in Woman’s World magazine in October, 2017.

--

--

Jo Ann Harris, Writer of Daily Musings
Benevolent

Writing on Medium since 2018. Writer for Illumination, About Me, and others, I write on a myriad of subjects with you in mind