The Jumpstart to #StartUpJournal

Kathleen Villena
Benilde HiFi
Published in
3 min readAug 18, 2017

I woke up on those mornings asking, “What am I doing with my life?”- that is how my startup story began. But to detail things out, here’s some more:

I used to be an accountancy student. Yes. I. used. to. be. Five years back, I never ever thought that I would land to this position where I am now, as one of the founders of social enterprise start-up.

I believe I was just an average student back then. I can barely pass those higher accounting classes. When in class, I got really nervous, “What if I don’t get again the score that I was targeting?” “What if I cannot speak again when my professor asks me?” “What if I extend again my college years so much, until my parents can no longer afford to pay for it?” But worse than the recurring what-ifs inside my head, I was able to identify the biggest challenge with that stage of my life- fear of not fitting in. Except for my friends of course, I find it really hard to get along with my classmates’ competitive vibes, even if I consider myself a competitive person too.

That fear started to grow within me which brought me imagining the same struggle until I fully become a certified public accountant. I was not able to stand with that idea, leading my feet to the department chair’s office convincing him to allow me to shift to another course. That was a long walk, from my room to that office (though they actually sit beside one another) because I identified who else are walking with me. There I had my life pegs- the ones where I ultimately got my inspiration from- my mentors; I also had the faces of people I wish to serve, and definitely they are not faces of the people who are going to check my audit reports, rather they are an underserved community whom I can empower; and lastly I also got my dream walking with me there cheering me that finally I am taking an action to meet him in person, and not simply declaring it.

That is how I pivoted my life.

And the rest was history.

“That is how I pivoted my life…”

With all these stories, I bring to you my #StartUpJournal. This would contain my personal stories of dramas, anecdotes and inspirations that make up my whole journey as a start-up founder, including some news update about milestones that our project earned.

Sharing to you this because of two reasons:

First, to express is a part of my process, when I write there is this certain feeling of mighty power that flows within me, it’s like I am in full control of what I think, all the more that I realize how significant the subject that I am writing about and that all becomes part of my learning process; and

Lastly, to pay it forward, when I am still in the discovery phase of knowing how I want to spend my life, a big contribution of that are the stories I heard from the people I meet, either in leadership trainings, seminars, organizational engagements and even in some personal conversations, so bringing you until this part of my article is simply because I want to share and inspire.

“To express… and to pay it forward…”

I sleep every night answering, “This is what I want to do with my life- to inspire and be inspired.”

--

--