So you want to study at Cambridge University?

Elodie's Quill
Write
Published in
5 min readApr 25, 2020

5 things to do in lockdown to improve your application.

Photo by Victoria Heath on Unsplash

Before we get to the good stuff, you may be wondering: why should I listen to your advice? It’s a fair point, especially with so many opinions floating around the internet on how to get a place at Oxbridge.

The simple answer is: I just graduated from the University of Cambridge. The slightly longer one is: I never even wanted to apply to Cambridge in the first place.

Let me explain. I went to a school that was a factory school for Oxbridge. As soon as they could, they sat me down and asked me: ‘Oxford or Cambridge’?
I replied: ‘Neither’.

Photo by Bogdan Todoran on Unsplash

Once they got over the shock, they asked again and got the same answer. I explained that I didn’t want to waste an application when I didn’t know if any university would want me (I had a lot less confidence in myself then) let alone one of the best in the world. They laughed it off and said: ‘What’s the worst that could happen?’.

Once I said yes, they started training me. Yes, yes I did just type that: TRAINING me. I learned a lot about how write a good personal statement, and learned even more once I was at Cambridge, as I got to know the fellows more and ask them questions about the application process. I know not everyone has the opportunities I have had, and so whenever I get asked how to get in, I share what I learned and try to help as much as I can. So, now for what you came for…

5 tips to boost your personal statement:

1. Read

Photo by Fabiola Peñalba on Unsplash

This is by far the best way to improve your chances of getting invited to interview — and it may sound obvious, but having spoken to many hopeful applicants, it often gets overlooked. This applies for every single course that Cambridge offers. Medicine? Read. Maths? Read. English? Definitely read. You need to be reading books and articles about your subject but also keep up to date with the latest news surrounding it, don’t get tunnel vision! This tip shouldn’t be difficult if you’re applying for a subject you’re passionate about.

2. Apply your reading

Photo by Cytonn Photography on Unsplash

It’s all very good to become an undiscovered expert in your field with all that reading you’re doing, but you won’t get a chance to show it off at interview if you don’t apply it to your personal statement. When explaining why you want to study what you’re applying for, make it clear what you’ve been reading, discuss the books that have inspired you. If you’re wanting to study a humanity subject, you need to go even deeper: give your opinions, positive or negative; they don’t want a reading list, they want to see you engage with the material. Be careful what you write though, as they may ask you about it if you get to interview.

3. Don’t cut corners

Photo by Xiaolong Wong on Unsplash

When applying to one of the best universities in the world, there are no shortcuts. Don’t bother buying books with odd titles (trust me, it’s a trend) such as ‘What is an orange? And other questions Cambridge interviewers have asked’. They are a waste of time, because the way you learn how to answer those questions is not by reading past examples (especially seeing as they change them all the time) but by knowing your subject inside out from all that reading you’ve been doing (hint, hint, step to it!). At the personal statement stage, you should also be preparing your application rather than expecting an interview — you’re not there just yet!

4. Too many cooks spoil the broth

Photo by Florian Klauer on Unsplash

When you finally get the the writing stage for your personal statement, you can’t let too many people read it. Only 3 people read mine before I sent it off. The reason for this is because everyone will have a different opinion and the more people you ask, the more you will get confused. So how do you pick those who can read it? You need someone to check your structure and grammar, someone who knows you very well and a double checker. That way, you’ll produce a mistake-free, well written statement that truly reflects you as a person. You may even find that someone who knows you well can suggest elements about you that you hadn’t thought of including.

5. Prepare for the best, expect the worst

Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Yes, this is a cliché, but it really needs to be said. Even though my school was a factory school for Oxbridge, pupils still get rejected every year as there are no guarantees. Think about it: they get too many applications from talented people all around the world so they have to reject some of the smartest every year as they just can’t fit everyone, no matter how much of a genius they are. That’s why you need to do your best, so you can say that no matter what, you tried, you don’t want any regrets. It’s also why you need to expect the worst. I watched so many students at my school break down in tears after being rejected as they had the mindset that it was Oxbridge or nothing.

I hope you found this useful, but also that I have shown that if you don’t think you can do it, that’s no excuse. I didn’t even want to apply and now I have a Cambridge degree — you never know until you try.

--

--

Elodie's Quill
Write
Editor for

Just a 25 year old on a career break, hunting for the dream job.