I Needed To Graduate, Like Yesterday. Here’s Why I’m Ready.

Benjamin Hawes
Benjamin Hawes
Published in
2 min readOct 16, 2014

This is going to be so stupid. I’ll just come out and say it. A couple of weeks ago, SF State (my college) was ranked number seven on a list about the schools with the most dateable alumni. Number 7 out of all schools. I was joking with my friends about it, and I told them that now I can’t wait to be an Alumni, so I would finally be dateable.

Like, it was a joke. Of course, I don’t believe that I’m going to automatically become more dateable once I graduate. BUT, I realized that I definitely like the sound of the word “alumni.” It has a nice ring to it. I like it. It hit me.

I have a bunch of friends who have graduated, a few still in school, and a few that never went. I think that college has definitely been a fun time for me, but the senior-itis thing has started. Now, Mom, before you get all worried about me, I don’t mean that my work is going to suffer. I don’t mean I’m going to get angry when a freshman asks a question that I think is dumb. I mean it in a more positive way. When I say I have senior-itis, I just mean I’m excited for the next step.

Moving to New York, landing a [dream] job, and making new friends is exactly what I want to do right now. I was watching an interview with the girls from Broad City, a show I like, about what it was like for them when they first moved to New York. They were talking about what made them happy, and one of them said that the thing that makes her the most happy is just not being a student anymore. Not having graded assignments that can sometimes feel pointless, not living your life at the same pace as the 30,000 other people doing the exact same thing.

I could relate to this, in a major way. The thing that I love about my internship is that I feel very independent. I feel that my boss gives me a task, and that is my* task. When I complete it, I will present it to him and it is a very personal experience. Not everyone gets that when it comes to being a student.

I have been a student for a long time now. Of course, I could calculate the number of hours I have spent in a classroom to prove how long I have been a student, but I don’t want to. It’s been a long time. I think I’m just totally ready to go to the next piece of my life!

Maybe it’s just because I want to appear to be more dateable. Maybe Not. Either way, college, it has been very, very fun. I’ll miss you, but It’s time I move on. I met someone. Her name is New York City, and she’s all mine. PEACE!

Here’s that Broad City Video I was telling you about. Scroll down to leave a comment!

[embed]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1XI7mbXdRY[/embed]

--

--

Benjamin Hawes
Benjamin Hawes

Side hustle coach here to help you find, start and grow your small business. DM to book a free 20 minute coaching intro :)