Weeknotes 02

Ben Proctor
benproctor-co-uk
Published in
2 min readApr 14, 2018

Well I managed a second week. I’m using the Satori Lab reflection questions again:

The Satori Lab reflection questions (questions on a postcard please)

What held me back?

I was slightly less distracted by shiny things. And slightly more focused on doing the right things work-wise.

What surprised me?

I was asked to write a post about housing data in Herefordshire for our partners at the Brightspace Foundation. I thought it would be straightforward to get information on the key questions people might want to know. I should have known better.

What did I learn?

I spent Friday morning with trustees, staff and associates of the Brightspace Foundation. We were spending time with folk from Powering Partnerships to refine the Foundation’s approach to corporates. This is a pro-bono service they offer (presumably under only certain circumstances) to small NGOs. It was really good. One of those workshops where feel that what they are suggesting is just common sense while at the same time recognising that left to your own devices you would have approached it in a radically different way.

It was definitely helpful to Brightspace and I also took away some inspiration for Satori to apply to what we grandly call our marketing and sales pipeline.

Also I fell into conversation with someone who worked in agri-industry in the 80s and 90s. He told me about managing a production unit and trying a radically different management approach. He went on to describe something very much like Turn the ship around. Since this is the sort of thing we encourage public services to think about doing themselves I was thrilled to find an advocate not from the crazy world of tech companies but from the much more traditional world of food production.

How will I behave differently?

Didn’t do very well on the meditation. This week’s the charm tho.

Thanks for reading.

Please clap if you liked this, it gives me a sense of enormous wellbeing. Please do follow me on Twitter.

I work at The Satori Lab. You might be interested in our services. We’re on LinkedIn and Facebook too.

--

--

Ben Proctor
benproctor-co-uk

Data and digital innovation director at Data Orchard CIC helping make non-profit organisations awesome at using data. Like maps, open data, dogs, bikes & boats.