Weeknotes 03

Ben Proctor
benproctor-co-uk
Published in
2 min readApr 21, 2018

Well that seems to have been quite a good week.

What held me back?

Nothing.

Actually this was a pretty good week. I felt like we knew what was important to do right now. I felt like I achieved things. We got some great feedback from clients.

What did I let go of?

A piece of ancient history. Esko Reinikainen and I went to a Cardiff University shindig. It was in main college which was where I spent my undergraduate years and some of my postgraduate years (I was actually based in mid-Wales but since everyone else was based in Cardiff I had to visit there regularly). I never actually wrote up my PhD.

This is fine but also I am a bit conflicted about the whole experience: who I was, the decisions I made. It’s not something I give any thought to at all but it did strike me that though I hadn’t been consciously avoiding the place this was the first time I walked into main college since 1997.

And it was totally OK of course (mind you my old department has moved which may have eased the experience).

What happened that gave me a glimpse of the future?

We’re running an experiment which might lead to having a new member of the team and from my point of view this went well. I can see how we can get more stuff done, better and start to let people spend more time on the things where they can add value.

What will I do next?

Well I’m running a workshop at TAI18 (the Welsh housing conference) next week and giving a talk about digital and emergencies to Emergency Planning folks in the West Midlands (including some old colleagues).

We’re also doing some product development on organisational network analysis and data awesomeness assessments (maybe needs a better name) and I feel like shortly we’ll have something even more useful to offer the world.

--

--

Ben Proctor
benproctor-co-uk

Data and digital innovation director at Data Orchard CIC helping make non-profit organisations awesome at using data. Like maps, open data, dogs, bikes & boats.