Weeknotes 05

Ben Proctor
benproctor-co-uk
Published in
2 min readMay 5, 2018
Written over a delicious breakfast at Sensory & Rye in the beautiful city of Hereford.

What did I learn?

I learned about pirates. Along with all the other listeners to the Reasons to be Cheerful podcast as Geoff and Ed interviewed Sam Coniff Allende about his new book “Be More Pirate” a radically revisionist history of pirates. It’s a great interview and really got me thinking about how we work, how we organise ourselves and how we measure our impact. Thoughts that have not yet fully grounded.

Also I learned that a high percentage of the associates we work with own nice (and I mean very nice) guitars. And they perform with them. Something I have so far not been brave enough to do. Despite the fact that I actively love showing off by giving talks. Stick a guitar in there and I turn to jelly.

What got in my way?

A candidate for the most mystifying procurement portal of all time. To submit your completed documents (which obviously had to be completed using Microsoft technology) you must download a Java App. Which means installing a JDK if, like me, you have no other need for JAR applications on your Mac. And then you have to guess how to operate this application. All to upload some word documents to a server.

What happened today that gave me a glimpse of the future? What frustrated me?

It was a bit of a week of conversations. Conversations with good, talented, interesting people about how we might work together. This simultaneously gave me a glimpse of a future where we could do good work together. And frustrated me because we also have good work to do now. Finding the balance between getting work, developing new relationships, developing and improving our products and services and actually doing the work we’re being paid to do is, I guess, the perennial problem of a small business. Certainly a small consultancy.

What did I do this week that I do every week

There was a degree of procrastination on Friday…

What will I do next week?

Next week I will have laser-sharp focus.

In particular we’re in the co-design phase of a leadership bootcamp with a client. And two more tenders have to go in.

Wish me luck.

Thanks for reading.

Please clap if you liked this, it gives me a sense of enormous wellbeing. Please do follow me on Twitter.

I work at The Satori Lab. You might be interested in our services. We’re on LinkedIn and Facebook too.

--

--

Ben Proctor
benproctor-co-uk

Data and digital innovation director at Data Orchard CIC helping make non-profit organisations awesome at using data. Like maps, open data, dogs, bikes & boats.