My Top 10 Basketball Players of All Time

Warning: The following list may trigger “instagram highlight” fans

Ben Bosscher
Ben’s Big Barn
7 min readJun 28, 2022

--

Is there even a need for an introduction paragraph? You clicked onto this page not to see my list and read my opinion but to disagree with it and tell me why I’m wrong, and that’s okay. It’s the world we live in, and I’ve accepted it, unlike everyone who can’t accept other people who have their personal opinions. The only difference, in this case, is my personal opinion is right!

Hey, this is my page, after all.

I will say that I don’t hate any of these guys. Just because someone is lower on my list than yours doesn’t mean I think they are any worse. I just value what someone else can do more for a team from a winning standpoint.

With that said, here’s the list.

1. Lebron James

Just a warning, this section will be longer than the others for a good cause

In my eyes, there isn’t much debate about who the greatest basketball player of all time is. Yes, I’m well aware Michael Jordan went 6/6 in the NBA Finals. Yes, I’ve heard the “if you go to a girl’s house ten times and only kiss her six times…” analogy. But basketball is a team sport, and no one has ever debated Lebron has ever had as good a team as the other guy.

Rings should matter in debates like this, but they shouldn’t be the only argument because if it is, then it’s a poor argument. Bill Russel should be the GOAT if that is the leg you stand on.

Unfortunately, we live in a world where I have to defend Lebron from people rather than appreciate his greatness, whether you think he’s the GOAT or not.

If I win the coin toss, I want to kickoff to save my offense for the second half, so I’ll start by defending Lebron from the goon squad Instagram fans.

“But Ben, if you have to defend him, then the argument is already over.”

You’re probably the reason I have to defend him if you say that. No Lebron fans hate Jordan, but for some reason, if you don’t think Lebron is the GOAT, it’s like you sign a contract with everyone else who thinks that to slander the man any chance you get. I think it’s just denial.

The 4–6 Finals record argument is dumb when you really dive down into it. Lebron pulled the Cavs to the finals in 07'. Larry Hughes was Clevland’s second-leading scorer at 14 ppg. They had no chance against Tim Duncan, Tony Parker, Manu Ginobili, and Greg Popovic. He was 22 years old, going against someone who established himself as one of the ten best players ever while in his prime. It’s silly to pin this one against him.

2015 against the Warriors, will we close our eyes and pretend Kyrie Irving and Kevin Love being hurt didn’t swing this series? If Scottie Pippen and Dennis Rodman both were missing from a finals series, are we going to assume the Bulls still win? I don’t. In fact, Lebron even won two games without Kyrie and Love.

Kevin Durant Warriors. Come on. This was, without a doubt, the greatest team to ever play together in the history of the NBA. The Warriors already won 73 games, and then the second-best player in the world? Let’s not pretend like anyone else in substitute of Lebron would have willed the Cavs to a title. Besides, in 2018 Lebron arguably had his best playoff run of all time, despite not winning the title. He finished the playoffs with 140 more points than the next highest guy (KD) and had the most field goals, free throws, and assists. Since Kyrie decided to go to Boston, Lebron truly left it all out there after destroying the Eastern conference with Kevin Love and George Hill as his leading scorers. And again, in the Eastern Conference Finals, K-Love got injured and was ruled out the rest of the way. George Hill was the second-best player to Lebron when they were facing Kevin Durant, Steph Curry, Klay Thompson, and Draymond Green. Are we going to hold Lebron against that?

To be clear, I’m not saying he should have four more rings by any means. I’m just saying it’s more complicated than the numbers 4–6.

One more defensive play. For anyone that says “he’s not clutch” and “he’s not a scorer,” he’s got the most playoff buzzer beaters of all time and is going to finish with the most points of all time.

“Well, he’s taken the most shots and played for 20 years.” Yeah, because he keeps making them and keeps playing exceptionally well.

Now the offense.

Lebron is going to finish with the most points all-time on a better 2-point and 3-point percentage than the other guy, meaning he scores more efficiently.

“He’s bigger and stronger and more athletic. He can get his shots easier. The other guy has to work for them.”

Yeah, I know… Exactly.

He’s going to finish top-five all-time in assists with a chance to crack the top 3, depending on how long Chris Paul plays for.

Oh yeah, and he’s still playing. How could we forget that his career isn’t even over? Headed into year 20, he’s still averaging 30 a game. Next highest? Kobe with 14.6. We’ve never seen someone year 20 and beyond capable of what Lebron will do next season.

Closing arguments?

He’s bigger, faster, and stronger. He’s a better passer, rebounder, and defender (I’d rather have a guy who can guard all five than clamp 2–3. Miami Lebron was Scottie Pippen Level of defense. It’s true, no lies). And finally, a better scorer than the other guy (more points on fewer shot attempts). Stop denying it.

2. Michael Jordan

There’s literally nothing I could possibly say here to change your opinion. So I just won’t say anything.

3. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

If we’re talking basketball players, not NBA players, there’s a legit argument for Kareem being the greatest ever. I wouldn’t argue against it if someone stood by it. I’d respect it.

Three-time High School State Champ

(30 PPG, 20 RPG, 75% Shooting, only played 1/2 of the game)

3 Time NCAA Champion

167–4 in high school and college combined

6 Time NBA MVP

6 Time NBA Champion

All-Time Leading NBA scorer

— Tier Gap —

4. Magic Johnson

Not including his returned season five years after HIV forced him to retire, Magic Johnson played 12 seasons in the NBA and made nine finals, winning five of them. He also won himself three MVPs and three Finals MVPs in the process. With Eyes in the back of his head, he truly invented and is the only one too perfect, the no-look pass. The foundation of the fun, flashy, fast-break was through him. While there were greats before him, Magic was the first star, paving the way for what the NBA looks like today.

5. Shaquille O’Neal

Three straight Finals MVPs.

Shaq averaged 38, 16.7, and 2.7 blocks in the finals. The following year he averaged 3.4 blocks.

He was the best player in the NBA for about five years, and it wasn’t even close. The most unstoppable, dominant force we have ever seen. Grown men in the NBA looked like 5th graders against Shaq in his prime. There wasn’t a single thing anyone could do against him besides foul him, of course.

If Shaq could have kept that size and athleticism he had for the back end of his career, there’s a legit GOAT conversation.

Alright, the top five before you get bored. Here’s the rest.

6. Bill Russel

7. Tim Duncan

8. Larry Bird

9. Kobe Bryant

10. Stephen Curry

@bosscherben is the Twitter handle if you want to tell me how wrong I am. I’ll give responses and further reasonings there if you holler. I’m sure many will have complaints about Kobe, but as I said, I don’t dislike Kobe. I just value the other guys more.

--

--