Juneteenth: Celebrating Black Artists

Kayla Scheidel
BentoBox Design

--

This week we celebrated Juneteenth, and while this day is so historically important, it’s also an excellent opportunity to share and support Black-owned businesses. I compiled a list of some artists I’ve recently discovered and plan to refer to as inspiration for my upcoming projects. Ah, and in case you love their work as much as I do, don’t be shy to share this post so we can spread good art to the world!

All the boho vibes.

My two favorite things: muted colors and free shapes. Melarie Odelusi’s work is what I’m naturally inclined to love. Her work is so playful, but still elegant and clean at the same time. It’s an excellent inspo when designing for a restaurant that has a feminine bohemian vibe. The way she’s able to work those muted tones while keeping high contrast between them is really incredible. Who has never struggled with ADA compliance?

https://www.melarieodelusi.com/

Let’s get funky

Talk about bright colors, textures, and best of all, leopard patterns! I don’t know about you, but Kendra’s illustrations SCREAM Miami restaurant vibes to me, and all I can picture is a chaotic and fun website with tons of animation. She also has a fun coloring book that makes the perfect break from work activity for those creative minds.

https://theebouffants.com/

Give me ALL the colors.

I’m gonna get super real now. Bold colors scare me a little. I love them, but it’s definitely out of my comfort zone. So, sometimes when I get clients with all those super bright and colorful hex codes, I have to look for reliable inspo. As you can see, Jade is NOT scared of colors, which makes her artwork great inspiration for how to use colors on a bright and bold site. One extra thing she has besides a ton of amazing work? A killer website!

https://jadepurplebrown.com/

Lines for days.

Who doesn’t love line work? Shantell is the Queen of black-and-white drawings and dynamic lines. Her website is impressive, with a wide variety of work that doesn’t cease to inspire and reminds me that fun work doesn’t need colors.

https://shantellmartin.art/

Written By: Isabella Ambrosio

--

--