Summer Flash Tattoos

Kaimalowany
BentoBox Design
5 min readJul 1, 2024

--

It’s officially summer, the season of barbecues, pool parties, and showing off your new tattoos. We’ve wanted to do a flash tattoo blog post for a long time now, and with cookout season upon us, what better theme to work with than pool parties and barbecues? Each designer has chosen a rough theme for their flash tattoos, from pool floaties to condiments, it’s all covered and we’re very excited to show off our first ever BentoBox design Summer Flash Tattoo sheet.

Summer BBQ Equipment

To me the Fourth of July is the peak of summer. It’s a holiday we have developed many traditions around and some require very specific equipment. That’s why my tattoos depict a grill for hot dogs, a lawn chair for sunbathing, and of course a firework as our grand finale. When approaching the style aspect of this project I found myself drawn to line work tattoos and that inspired my thin strokes. My color choices mimic our own flag with some duller hues to give my designs a more nostalgic feel. I tied together each tattoo with a phrase because I love seeing words in ink and the gothic font I found helps give it that macabre look we are used to seeing on flash tattoo sheets.

Written and Designed by James Coviello

Summer Accessories

Summer for me is all about fun in the sun! So for my category, I focused on summer accessories, from heart-shaped glasses to shield the rays to bright floaties for the water! I used a patriotic palette of red, white, and blue but with a brighter red and blue to lean into the plastic look of these accessories. My tattoos are more new school style, with the bold lines and limited palette used in traditional tattoos and the cartoonish style used in new school tattoos.

Written and Designed by Chelsea Davis

Summer Food

Tattoos and tattoo art have always been a big part of my style and creativity. It just so happens that I also love to draw food in fun styles so when I saw the opportunity to work on this project I jumped at it. When thinking about how to tie in the summer BBQ theme to flash tattoos I immediately went to a ‘series’ of condiment bottles with different accents, they’re iconic and also lend themselves well to a simple graphic style. I knew I wanted to do ketchup mustard and mayo (the classics), and when thinking about traditional tattoo styles the angel and devil wings seemed an obvious choice. My girlfriend absolutely hates ketchup so it seemed like the perfect choice for devil wings. For mayo I used the classic traditional style flowers since it worked nicely to add a pop of color to the white bottle.

Written and Designed by Kai Malowany

Summer Drinks

Tattoos have a special place in my heart so I was thrilled to jump into some summer-themed flash! I opted for more of a traditional style with a focus on black line work and simple line shading. Few things are as refreshing and quintessentially summer than a cold drink, so I ran with that! I wanted to create a slightly more macabre feeling with a skull and skeleton hand as the through line on all 3 tattoos focusing on the darker genre within tattooing. With my skeleton character created and integrated into the refreshments, this delightful dichotomy is complete.

Written and Designed by Lindsey Robinson

Summer Desserts

I decided to go with the more traditional American style of tattoo, using bold linework and colors. Summer desserts were my focus, specifically the Bomb Pop, cherry pie and strawberries. The Bomb Pop is a classic summer dessert with the red, white and blue coloring, making it especially popular for Independence day. I added the rocket flame as a play on the other name for this sweet treat, Rocket Pop. Also, can you get more American than cherry pie? Well maybe apple pie … but I felt cherry is more suited for the summer holidays. I added the banner as another classic traditional tattoo style with hand written typography. I also included strawberries since they are at their best during the summer. I included a little heart to the cut strawberry to bring in another traditional tattoo style, and added decorative leaves and a flower to make this tattoo pop.

Written and Designed by Leanna Myers

As always, remember to share this if you liked it! Happy 4th of July from all of us here att the BentoBox Design Team!

--

--