Graduate Speaker Describes Ph.D. as Crucial Step Towards Self-Acceptance

Sijia Xiao was the Ph.D. in Information Science student speaker at the May 2024 UC Berkeley School of Information Commencement

Berkeley I School
BerkeleyISchool
3 min readMay 22, 2024

--

Photo of Noah Berger for the School of Information

Sijia Xiao delivered the following address on May 18, 2024, at Zellerbach Hall, UC Berkeley —

Hi everyone, I’m Sijia. In the course of my Ph.D. research, I encountered a quote by Mariame Kaba that deeply touched me: “Everything worthwhile is done with others.” I sincerely appreciate each of you for joining us today to mark this important moment with all of our graduates.

To me, working towards my Ph.D. is more than an academic endeavor; it symbolizes the creation of profound connections with Berkeley, South Hall, and the extraordinary individuals who have crossed my path.

I want to express my gratitude to all the I School faculty. I enjoy discussing ideas with Niloufar in her vibrant pink office. Coye shares research insights with me; in return, I share with him my latest dance videos and tea. More than just gaining knowledge, I’m fortunate to know you both as remarkable researchers and wonderful people.

To my student cohort, thank you for all the exchanges we’ve had, from research ideas to hallway chats, from solidarity to vulnerability. I’m grateful to know my labmates, our Tech of Our Own girls. The virtual support chats during COVID times, our New Orleans and Hamburg adventures, and group meetings on the grass are some of the fondest memories I have with you. Thank you for filling my life not only with brilliant ideas, but also with laughter and joy.

I’d like to thank all the staff for being the backbone of our success. I’m never nervous about technical issues before presentations because the IT team always checks in beforehand. The student affairs team enriches our experiences inside and outside of our academic pursuits by keeping us informed about all the deadlines and opportunities, and by offering baking or Valentine card-making sessions. Special thanks to Inessa, who works directly with our Ph.D. students. Thank you for truly caring and investing in our happiness and growth, which shines through in every interaction we have.

A heartfelt thank you to my family, friends, my partner Ryan, and his family. With the freedom to design my own paths, I often find myself overwhelmed by the feeling that there’s more to accomplish. My remedy is not sitting in front of the desk longer, but enjoying simple things like a good meal, a walk in nature, or a heartfelt chat. I turn to you and think of you the most when I experience hardship. You keep reminding me that work is not an end but a means towards happiness with you in my life.

I’ve fostered a special connection with an extraordinary person — myself. My Ph.D. is a five-year journey without a predetermined roadmap. Despite the uncertainties, it offers me the freedom for self-discovery. This freedom nourishes me to freely learn and explore my hobbies. At times, I blend in with first-year undergrads in a Sociology 101 class; at other times, I’m dancing in the garage with Bay Area street dancers. This same freedom enables me to tackle social issues I care about through my research. How do we manage misinformation and conspiracy theories on the internet? How does prevalent online harassment impact young people’s mental health? My Ph.D. research serves as a vehicle that connects me to my values and passions.

I never wanted to romanticize this journey. A Ph.D. is hard. A successful paper comes after many late nights of work and rejections. Navigating through mental health, financial, and job uncertainties increases my self-doubt and pressure. To me, a Ph.D. entails more than an academic pursuit; it’s a journey of engaging in an inner dialogue toward self-acceptance. I recognize that this journey is one that extends a lifetime, but I’m proud to say that I’ve made significant progress during my time as a Ph.D. student at the I School.

I could not have accomplished this without you, my friends, who have become an integral part of my life story. Everything worthwhile is done with others. Thank you for making mine truly unforgettable.

--

--

Berkeley I School
BerkeleyISchool

The UC Berkeley School of Information is a multi-disciplinary program devoted to enhancing the accessibility, usability, credibility & security of information.