Rejected by an Employer? Time To Say “Thank You!”

Berkeley I School
BerkeleyISchool
Published in
3 min readJun 8, 2024

By Mary McHale

Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

No one wants to experience the pain of rejection during a job search. Who wants to be told that they didn’t make the cut or that they are not moving ahead with your candidacy? This can be even tougher to hear when you thought you had a great interview and were a top candidate. Depending on your experience in the interview process, your emotions can range from feelings of shock, to failure, and rejection.

What can a weary job searcher do to change rejection into opportunity? What can you do to make a lasting impression in the minds of the search team and help you stand out from the crowd?

Say, “Thank You!”

Many candidates send a ‘thank you for my interview’ email, but a ‘thank you, anyway’ email may be just as valuable. In this highly competitive job market, taking the time to be remembered positively may set the tone for your future.

Thank you for your recent message/email/letter/phone call. I enjoyed learning more about (something from an interview) at COMPANY NAME) and your (mission, goal, business challenge).

Ask for Feedback

How can you learn what you need to do to be a successful candidate next time? Ask! Can they suggest anything you can do to improve and become a more viable candidate?

“I truly appreciated the opportunity to introduce myself to you. I understand you have selected another candidate. I would appreciate learning your recommendations on how I can be a stronger candidate in the future”.

Since very few hiring managers receive this type of candidate communication, they may respond with valuable suggestions.

This is also an opportunity to take an honest assessment of your interviewing skills and look to see how you can improve. Were you as prepared as you could have been? Did you communicate your skills and accomplishments effectively? Did your “Tell-me-about yourself” response engage and show your value or did you see eyes glaze over? Should you have a stronger response to the “Why should we hire you?” question? Consider using mock interviews to help you improve your skills.

I School students and alums can request a mock interview through Career Services.

What’s in It for Me?

A great “thank you after rejection’ is an opportunity to demonstrate your character, ability to handle difficult situations, openness to feedback, and professionalism. Use this to communicate your continued interest in their company, and let them know you would like to continue to be in contact with them.

“I appreciated the opportunity to meet you and your team and learn about (your goals, team, and business problems). If there is a future opening that is a better fit, I hope you will consider me”.

As well as being a class-act response to a difficult experience, this makes sure the most recent communication in the tracking system include a strong, confident communication from you.

Real-Life Lessons

Beyond coaching others to do this, I have written this email myself. When I did, the hiring manager wrote back immediately and said “Absolutely! You are a strong candidate and we would love to have you apply for other positions”. This helped heal my bruised ego and even encouraged me to apply again. This turned the message from ‘no’ to ‘not today’ and enabled me to feel more in control, and ready to continue my job search while feeling more confident and able to be a stronger candidate.

Good luck!

--

--

Berkeley I School
BerkeleyISchool

The UC Berkeley School of Information is a multi-disciplinary program devoted to enhancing the accessibility, usability, credibility & security of information.