Outlets are Essential for Caregivers

--

by Karen Wessenberg (Resident, Jackie Geiger) Dementia is not a one size fits all disease. Every patient experiences it differently, which makes it hard for some caregivers to feel comfortable in a support group setting.

Photo by Mojor Zhu on Unsplash

If that doesn’t work for you, might you consider a creative outlet instead. Caregivers need to be able to disconnect from the stress of looking after a loved one to recharge their batteries. Whether you like to listen to music, read/write poetry, paint, pottery, woodworking, sew or do yarn crafts, having something creative can take you away from your caregiver routine and provide the respite to recharge your batteries.

I, personally, love to knit. I immerse myself in a project, simple or involved, that draws my attention and allows me to be completely distracted from my requirements or thoughts or worries. I come back refreshed and ready to take on any challenges that surface.

Photo by Roman Hinex on Unsplash

If you’d like to join such a group, please email me at catbiker50@hotmail.com and we’ll set something up that works for everyone.

--

--

"Berksilver" Family Council
Berksilver

A collection of articles by and for the families and friends of residents at the Silverado assisted living and memory care community in Berkeley, California.