Roller Skating Takes Over Tempelhof Airport

Yulene Teagle-Alarcon
Berlin Beyond Borders
2 min readJul 11, 2022

By Yulene Teagle-Alarcon

BERLIN- I packed my roller skates on a last-minute whim, a bit hesitant about the weight they would add to my suitcase, but curious to see whether Berlin had roller skating spots. Coming from Long Beach, California, a city with a prominent roller-skating community, I would have been grateful if I had found even a thin stretch of smooth surface among the rows of cobble-stoned streets to skate. Little did I know that Berlin has a whole airport runaway’s worth of skating space.

My orange roller skates at Tempelhof Airport
My orange roller skates in the community park at Tempelhof Airport

After trudging my bright orange skates through the U-Bahn, I finally arrived at the Tempelhofer Feld, a huge park at the formerly Allied-run airport that received the Berlin airlift of supplies to a besieged city in 1948–1949. It has since been turned into a public space, used for activities like biking, roller-skating, and outdoor concerts. What stretched in front of me were outdoor runways of skating space and the familiar sweet sounds of rolling wheels from quad and in-line skaters, a paradise for skaters of different walks (or skates) of life.

Watch the video to meet some skaters from Tempelhof Airport.

Like several others during the pandemic, I found solace in roller-skating at a time of social isolation. Roller skaters, like Freue, Marco, Maame, Ferdinand, and myself, have found this rekindled — or newfound — passion and have found a tight-knit community that transcends age, gender, sexuality, language, and borders. After interviewing the skaters, each with their unique skating styles, skates, and outfits, I realized that roller skating is yet another mode of self-expression and a way to connect across borders. Having this outlet, within a judgment-free community, is what makes roller skating such a special pastime.

Needless to say, bringing my skates in my suitcase was worth the extra weight.

Tempelhof Airport runways at sunset.

Yulene Teagle-Alarcon is going into her 3rd year as a Communication student at UC Santa Barbara.

--

--