Hacking German language in style

Ewelina Bubanja
Berlin through my lens
2 min readApr 7, 2014

--

As some of you in my community may be aware I have relocated to Berlin. However none of you knows that in fact I do not speak German at all. Despite what many people say about English speaking capital, day to day life poses many challenges.

Recently I reached a point where learning the language seems not anymore to be a choice but a mere necessity. Luckily when researching for a German language course I came across a very unique project that totally grabbed my attention.

Michael Schmitz from smarterGerman decided to embark on a truly courageous adventure to prove the impossible; aiming at teaching German from scratch to B1 level in only 14 days. Fortunately for me he has chosen to invite me to join him on this extraordinary journey.

For those who aren’t necessary into language affairs, it usually takes 6 months of regular weekly tuition at a language school to reach this level of language competency.

The aim of the project #B114 is to successfully attempt (and hopefully score 80 % or higher) the TELC exam which is acknowledged by universities and the German government.

Because of the insane intensity of the course for the next two weeks you might not hear from me so much. But feel free to follow the progress at smarterGerman.

Once I complete the course I will promptly and happily share my experiences and thoughts on hacking German language with you.

--

--