Learning languages doesn’t have to be complicated

Ewelina Bubanja
Berlin through my lens
4 min readApr 7, 2014

--

The project of ‘Learning German from scratch to B1 level in only 14 days’ has finished on a high note. Despite some bumps we had in the second week I tackled the B1 exam as planned.

To find out the outcome we will have to wait patiently for another 4-6 weeks. This is how long it takes for the papers to be checked in Hamburg. We will keep on meeting for lessons but less frequently. Just once a week for an hour to cover the material we didn’t get a chance to go trough before as we were focusing exclusively on the necessary minimum for the exam.

I feel that I have mastered German from scratch to a solid A2 level in the first week of hard work. This included 3 contact hours with Michael and additional 4 to 5 hours work on my own daily. It is truly an amazing achievement in one third of time. Not only a real confidence boost but also a time saver. Usually it takes 3 months of learning to get there when attending a language school course.

All the hard and intense work paid off. Only after the first week I started enjoying overheard conversations on the tram and kept on stopping notoriously on the street to read the ads that the city walls are so scrumptiously covered with. It felt incredible seeing the progression so quickly.

So what is the advantage in this method of speedy learning?

The Smarter German method included fast learning vocabulary methods like link words and associations, using Memrise app and working with simple books in German from day 1. I had access to all video materials and handouts customized by Michael.

Learning German with this technique was different from any other way I have learnt languages before; be it in the primary and secondary school, any private courses in language schools or even learning a language at the university level.

I do have some experience with studying of languages. As a Polish native speaker I started English in Primary school and continued until College. Then I moved to Ireland where I completed the double Degree (Art History and Italian Language). I have also learnt Russian in Secondary School for 4 years, Italian at the University for 5 years and Irish for a semester. Each time I studied a language the teaching followed the same pattern somehow programming my way of learning experience.

With Smarter German we skipped the slow start rollout and learnt more complex grammar structures. Firstly, drawing on my pre-existing knowledge of other languages, looking for patterns and then understanding them. In my case it was reassuring to find similarities or even cross overs in meaning between newly acquired German words and languages that I spoke already: English, Polish and Italian.

Studying a foreign language on ‘one to one’ basis has unquestionable perks. It is tailored to your personal needs rather than to a group of students.

In fact I have some thoughts about the project that I would like to share.

First and foremost it was a very challenging experiment. I had a chance to feel on my own skin the necessity of having access to a proper learning space and its link to the performance. It is critical to be able to focus your full attention on the learning tasks. It is how vital the quiet surroundings and concentration is.

Another aspect that cannot be underestimated is setting of realistic goals. For this project learning material was purposely cut to bare minimum. The aim of the 14 day challenge was to just pass the B1 exam, not to be at the actual B1 level. There is a big difference between these two. Setting out clear goals within your limits can help to keep on focus and motivation levels high.

My advice for anyone deciding to embark on a journey of learning a new language apart from the most important aspects such as motivation, enthusiasm and determination is also to discover what type of learner you are. By implementing the right method you will definitely advance the process.

We all know the saying ‘Brain is a muscle and if you exercise it regularly just like any other muscle it will expand’. Sometimes it can exceed your expectations. One of my tasks next to grammar, speaking practice, reading texts, and aural exercises was to memorize 150 new words daily. That equals 50 words in every of three 1 hour sessions that I studied on my own. At the start it seemed almost impossible but as fast as in the second day of the project it became my new routine.

I believe that there are no more or less linguistically talented people. What differentiates polyglots from those who can speak only their mother tongue is nothing else but hard work.

Moreover being immersed in the language is a bonus if not a necessity when aiming at improving quickly. Direct contact with native speakers and real life situations make newly acquired material stick to your memory right away as it is often linked to intense emotions that you experience when starting to speak but not yet confident of your skill. If you do not live in the country your target language is being spoken try using google hangouts. It might help you to get the feel for different accents and help your speaking and listening practice.

Trust me when you try to learn a new language the whole new world will open for you. As for me whatever the outcome of the B1 exam is going to be I am totally stoked with the achievements to date. Now I have the skills and know the techniques to keep on studying German on my own and this is where I will direct my efforts for the next 6 months. It would be superb to pass C1 exam. Let’s see if it is possible.

Follow me @CrackingOyster

--

--