35/n: AT TBC

Berni Ruoff
Hiker trash
Published in
2 min readSep 12, 2023

day 10: Siler’s Bald Shelter M195.5 to Newfound Gap M207.7

I’ve decided to quit the trail and return to Germany. This new situation the whole world is facing also has to have an effect on someone who’s just walking through the woods.

The whole trail so far has been very hard on me mentally and worrying about my friends and family has made me even more homesick. So this and the uncertainty about how the situation here in the USA will escalate further has brought me to the decision to get off trail and get the earliest flight back home.

Clingmans Dome

This adventure came from great privileges. The privilege of having people, who provide me with food, shelter, transportation and many other important services. The privilege of having the financial and social security to tackle such an endeavour without worrying about the future. The privilege of having friends and family that love and support me at every step.

I’m very aware of these privileges and I’m very grateful to have gotten this opportunity and I can’t wait to get the next chance.

Thanks to every single one of you, who helped me along the trails with support, with company, with food, with fellowship, with motivation, with thought, with empathy, with advice, with shelter, with inspiration and with goody goody gumdrop.

Be safe, stay healthy, see you soon

--

--

Berni Ruoff
Hiker trash

Experience designer and design thinker on a mission to enable teams and ultimately become replaceable.