A cynics guide to building a beauty brand

Christina Ou
SELFMADE
Published in
8 min readApr 15, 2021

--

I’ve always considered myself a cynical skeptic. I’m a middle class millennial, born and raised in New York City, have lived through 2 recessions, a stock market crash, racism/sexism on an all too frequent basis, and now a global pandemic…so unfortunately, I haven’t had the benefit of viewing the world through rose tinted glasses. This has followed me into adulthood, where I’ve hopped between 6 different jobs in the decade since I graduated from college, ranging from the top ad agencies in New York to global tech startups.

Me getting lost in the crowds of Flatiron
Me wearing solar eclipse, not rose tinted, glasses

And even though my career may look successful on paper, with a linear path of promotions, raises, and awards, I left that all behind this year for an early stage startup — something the risk adverse and financially motivated me swore I’d never do. Enter SELFMADE, a brand that may at first glance seem like just another beauty brand, and as someone who is by no means a skincare/makeup junkie (my go to typically being whatever’s on sale at Duane Reade), this may seem like an odd fit.

But in my first conversation with our founder + CEO, Stephanie Lee, something about her pitch felt different..real, authentic, and most of all, rooted in a passion to democratize mental health resources to women and nonbinary folks of color. Despite years of hardening my exterior, this conversation sparked something in me that made me not only willing…

--

--

Christina Ou
SELFMADE

Senior Product Designer @ Apollo.io. Passionate about innovative SaaS product design, cohesive user experiences, and research-driven decision making.