No More Fast Food . . .

Jerry Boak
Best (Healthy) Road Food
2 min readAug 2, 2016

What if you crammed your family into a late model SUV and drove for 30 days from coast-to-coast WITHOUT indulging in fast-food? Two kids who’ll eat only McD’s snack wraps and burgers? NOT on the table. Will there be complaining? Yes. Weeping and gnashing of teeth? Definitely. Mutiny? We’ll see.

There was one other thing on my mind. Breakfast. See, after coffee, I have a deep and abiding love for breakfast. Some of my fondest memories are of breakfast. Sunday pancakes growing up, my mother’s incredible French toast, diner platters with my mod buddies, the perfect egg sandwich, my wife’s cheesy eggs. So where on our trip would we find great coffee AND a hearty breakfast? Then there’s lunch, snacks, and of course dinner.

To make matters more complicated, the Boak family’s trip credo is, no fast food, at all, during our entire month on the road. My wife’s first question to me was a good one: How does one define fast food? After all, would we really drive through Southern California and not hit an In-n-Out?

So I went online, to QSR Magazine, the official rag of the fast-food industry, and looked at their 2015 list of America’s top fast food chains. It was settled, we won’t eat at any restaurant in the Top 40. (Fortunately, In-n-Out was number 44).

What if these foolhardy parents decided to make these kids (and themselves) not only give up fast-food, but also sample and report on what they found, open up the conversation to you, and pull in (almost) real time suggestions?

Well, let’s find out what happens. Stay tuned for “Best (Healthy) Road Food in America” on Medium —

--

--

Jerry Boak
Best (Healthy) Road Food

“Where do we fit in?” One interstate at a time . . .