Source: Pixabay.com

The One Habit that Changed Me For Good and Accelerated Towards Success

Michał Stawicki
The Bottom Line
Published in
3 min readMay 26, 2018

--

Showing up, no matter what.

When it dawned on me that success is not one grand event or deed, but rather a long journey where each of the steps count, I started many small daily disciplines in different areas of my life. In other words, I started to show up every day.

Whenever I wanted to achieve something, I translated the goal into a small daily activity.

My Small Disciplines

I wanted to deepen my spiritual life, so each day I studied the Bible for 10 minutes and read a book written by a saint for 10 minutes a day.

I wanted to get control over my finances, so I started to track my every expense.

I wanted to become a better database administrator, so I started to study professional documentation for 10 minutes a day.

I decided to become a writer, so I started writing every single day.

Success

I discovered relatively quickly that I am on the right path to success. After a month of practicing speed reading for 10 minutes a day, my reading speed increased by almost 100%. That made me excited like a teenager in a boy band concert. I love to read! Suddenly, I was able to read twice as much as before in the same amount of time.

So I stuck with my daily disciplines in other areas. In a few months, I reached my dream weight.

In the next few years, I beat over 200 personal fitness records.
A few months after writing regularly, I started writing my first book. I wrote and published it within 49 days.
I passed a few professional exams and obtained a couple of database administration certificates.

Show Up = Success

And then real successes came. I bought our first house, because I earned just enough from book royalties to contribute to the mortgage. In the two years prior, I had also increased my saving ratio from 3–4% to about 20%.

I wrote and published 15 books. I sold well over 32,000 copies of them.

I started an online coaching practice and coached over 100 people.

I networked, so now a few millionaires know who Michal Stawicki is. One even wrote a foreword for my book.

My answers on Quora got over 3.5 MILLION views. I have thousands of subscribers and followers on social media.

I became so knowledgeable about book ads on Amazon that, last year, I started advertising books for other authors. In 8 months, I scaled this business to 14 authors, 40+books and 4 figures a month.

My wife quit her job, and I downsized my corporate job to half-time. The idea is to get rid of it completely down the road.

But I never did something spectacular. I showed up. I wrote every day. I read and commented on blogs. I published Quora answers. I ran my ad campaigns, and I learned a few tactics that work on Amazon.

My biggest daily discipline was about 1-hour long (writing). Everything else was smaller.

(The Slight Edge chart)

Show up. Consistency is more important than results, because consistency generates results.

Originally published at www.quora.com.

--

--

Michał Stawicki
The Bottom Line

Authorpreneur. Progress fanatic. I help people change their lives… even if they don’t believe they can. I blog on http://ExpandBeyondYourself.com/