Addie and Jana.

A long sentence for mom

Ahead of Mother’s Day, Bethel University digital storytelling students share the important aspects of their moms, such as shared TV shows, anxious text messages, and never-ending support.

Kaden Lamb
Published in
4 min readMay 4, 2023

--

I know you Jana, you’re the kind of mom who will be there for your kids, if anything is going on with your kids, you help us.

Anyway, thanks, mom, for taking me to Andiamo to eat ravioli on my birthday, for giving me tickets to see Mean Girls on Broadway, for watching Emily in Paris with me when no one else will, for answering the phone when I found out I got accepted to Bethel University, for not packing me in your suitcase when we went to Hawaii, Texas, and New York, for telling me to go on the spring break mission trip to Washington DC, for encouraging me to stay another year at transition school when COVID-19 hit, and for encouraging me to follow my dreams to be a photojournalist when I started working at White House Custom Color. ~Addie Stern

Kaden and Steph.

I know you, Steph, you’re the kind of momma who has to find her lost voice on Sundays because she herds fifth graders during the week and screams at her sons’ football games on Fridays and Saturdays.

Anyway, thanks, mom, for packing my little blue Spider-Man lunchbox everyday despite my picky appetite in elementary school, for taking your little blue anxiety pills that keep you from blowing up my phone with concerns, for blowing up my phone with concerns, for the obnoxious blue and purple basketball shoes that I didn’t score many points in, for letting me make mistakes, for showing up to all my games just to watch me ride the bench, for the new laptop when mine fell out of my zipperless backpack, for giving me a couple little brothers to keep in line, for the new backpack with multiple working zippers, for keeping me in line, for listening to the endless football banter that fills your house when the boys are all home, for modeling the best relationship with Dad, for not making too many jokes about my failed relationships with ex-girlfriends, for teaching me to laugh at myself, for guilt-tripping me whenever I neglect to call for more than ten business days, and for inspiring me with your passion for joyfully serving others. ~Kaden Lamb

Sophia.

I know you, Sophia, you’re the kind of mother who treasures your daughter every day for twenty years since I was diagnosed with leukemia as a baby, when you had to drive an hour up to Duke Hospital in Durham, NC every day until I went into remission more than two months later.

Anyways, thanks, mom for valuing me throughout my whole life, for praying for me when I needed it so I wouldn’t die from leukemia, for letting my brother take care of me, for watching me and dad dance to ABBA in the garage, for letting me take ballet, for moving me and my brothers to Minnesota because the school didn’t understand why I learned differently, for pushing me to join the first grade when I wasn’t ready and was held back to kindergarten, for putting me into tutoring lessons at Huntington Learning Center, for helping me through my tough times when I was bullied in middle school, for driving me to Mathnasium every week in eighth grade, for bringing me to church on Wednesdays, for letting me getting re-baptized in Lake Ann in Chanhassen, for helping me walk my faith through church camp and youth events at Eden Prairie Assembly of God, for picking the closest high school so I could take the bus or let you or dad drive me there, for helping me understand my assignments when I had learning challenges at school, for finding the newspaper clipping about the BUILD program at Grandma’s house, for pushing yourself and me so I can attend the program though my cognitive skills were advanced, for showing humility through the challenges I faced and helping me through them, and for loving me all the times when I am good enough for this world. ~Maggie Holland

[Editor’s note: Look for more long sentences for mom every day through Mother’s Day from Bethel University digital storytellers.]

--

--