Emma Forsline poses with with ‘Bethel College’ flag at a family reunion at the Forsline Farm nearly 15 years before she would attend the school herself. “I’ve realized how much of an impact Bethel has had on my family.” Forsline said. “And also how much of an impact my family has had on Bethel.” | Photo courtesy of Emma Forsline

Bethel Bits: Emma the 30th

Freshman Emma Forsline carries on her family’s legacy as the 30th person to attend Bethel University.

Alexandra Eigen
ROYAL REPORT
Published in
2 min readMay 13, 2016

--

By Alex Eigen | Royal Report

Emma Forsline might be new on the scene, but her name carries on a lasting legacy at Bethel University. Forsline, a freshman majoring in elementary education, is the 30 member of the Forsline family to attend Bethel. A rich family heritage rooted firmly in Christ began what would become a tradition for the ages. Forsline now recognizes the many ways in which her family has left their own mark on the school she now calls home.

It’s been a place of growth and spiritual learning, and I know Emma is getting that there too.” — Kyle Forsline, Emma’s father

“It seems that we’re sprinkled throughout campus,” Forsline said. “My dad played football here, and my mom lived right down the hall from my room in Bodien, and my dad’s cousin, Lad Forsline 86’, created the wooden sculpture near Brushaber Commons.”

Emma’s father, Kyle Forsline, recalls being a part of Bethel’s community.

“As a Bethel alum, I’m really proud of the school, what it stands for and what it teaches.” Kyle said. “The things that I’ve learned while I was there have stuck with me today and have helped me through some hard times. It’s nice to know that so many people in my family have experienced that as well. It’s been a place of growth and spiritual learning, and I know Emma is getting that there too.”

Emma Forsline has now began to make countless memories of her own at the place that so much of her family holds near and dear. Now when listening to her relatives reminisce on their days back at Bethel, Forsline might just have a story or two to share. When asked if she hopes that her children someday choose to attend Bethel, Forsline said with a smile:

“I’ll put in a good word.”

--

--