Duck, Duck, Duct Tape

The childhood gift of my dreams.

Emily Nelson
ROYAL REPORT
1 min readMay 15, 2016

--

Dear Santa,

I promise I’ve been good this year. Well part of the year anyway. But for Christmas I want…

We’ve all been a child. We’ve all asked for presents: X-box, Barbie’s Dream House, Lincoln Logs, the list goes on and on. Well, my list was a little different. When I was about 7 or 8 years old I asked for tape.

But not just any tape.

Scotch Tape. And I got it. A blue tape dispenser with three tape refills. Dreams really do come true. Within that week I had managed to drop the dispenser. which was weighed down by about a cup full of sand. That sand went everywhere.

That sand-less tape dispenser has lasted me 13 years and counting. I can’t think of many other presents I still use.

Emily Nelson for Royal Report

--

--