Elise Bierbaum played tennis since age 7. Her coach and role model, Jim Anderson, took this photo of her and sent it to her mom. “Jim had a different mindset and wanted me to love the sport, he didn’t care about the stats,” Bierbaum said. | Photo submitted by Sofia Tereshchenko

Elise Bierbaum makes an impact

18-year-old Elise who is planning to graduate from Bethel University next Spring has found her calling in life.

Sofia Tereshchenko
Published in
2 min readNov 23, 2021

--

By Sofia Tereshchenko, writer

Elise Bierbaum was 7 years old when she began. Jim Anderson, her coach, treated her as his child. Bierbaum eventually took his position. Ethan, her favorite student, who loves to put flowers in her hair, is why Bierbaum has changed her passion.

Bierbaum is an 18-year-old junior at Bethel University, speaks Chinese almost fluently, was named after the song Fur Elise by Beetoven, and always wanted to be a lawyer. Majoring in political science, having a background in shadowing a corporate lawyer. Her goals have changed. Everything that she planned has changed because of tennis.

“I feel that I got a far step ahead,” Bierbaum said.

Elise Bierbaum hugs Harper on the tennis court floor. Bierbaum had just finished with lessons for the day at SLP Tennis Club in the summer. She has a very special connection with the kids, even so far as letting them text her whenever they need her. “I love when they text me and let me know what’s going on in their lives,” Bierbaum said. | Photo submitted by Sofia Tereshchenko

Bierbaum has been committed to tennis since she was 7. Bierbaum won six state titles, received D1 offers and full-ride scholarships. But these accomplishments didn’t lead to the feeling of joy that Bierbaum gets from her foreign exchange students who are ages 6–8.

“I know that Elise will gain many opportunities through her passion for tennis.” Coach Anderson said.

Bierbaum has taught twins, Harper and Roger, who came from China, eight hours a week, every week this summer.

Her hopes to play D1 tennis weren’t in the books for Bierbaum. Rejecting other opportunities, she decided that Bethel was the best fit. Despite not being able to experience the normal Sunday school, youth group, and Sunday service, Bierbaum found it best for her faith and her tennis career to become part of Bethel.

“I’m really looking forward to my future. I feel like I could surprise myself or younger me would be surprised with what I do.” — Elise Bierbaum

Her jump ahead to do PSEO has made Bierbaum realize she has found her calling in life. To have a chance to teach her kids English and be able to give them a future through the game.

“I’m looking forward to my future. I feel like I could surprise myself or younger me would be surprised with what I do,” Bierbaum said.

--

--