Makenna Cook, a senior at Bethel University, spends her time advocating for the Deaf community.

Makenna Cook has no idea what she’s doing

Makenna Cook
ROYAL REPORT
Published in
2 min readSep 19, 2021

--

I have a confession: I don’t know what I’m doing.

Somehow I am graduating college at age 19 but I still can’t tell my left from my right. The first time I took my driver’s test, I failed because the instructor told me to turn right and then loudly said “your other right.”

Speaking of my car, I’ve watched my dad fill my windshield wiper fluid twice. He thinks I know how to do it but last time I tried I emptied the gallon down the driveway. I got a car wash to clean my windshield instead.

I don’t know why my cat meows. She seems to think I know what she wants. I feel like she should know after a year of not understanding her that I never will.

I would rather spend time with my cat than my friends because I don’t understand how college students stay awake until early hours in the morning. If I’m not in bed by 10 p.m., I won’t make it to my classes the next day.

I don’t know why girls seem to be so cliquey but boys can punch each other in the face and be friends again in three seconds. My mom says popularity and cliques only exist in high school, but I say she’s wrong. Small colleges have it too.

I was raised with the motto, “If you do it right the first time you won’t have to do it again.” However, this is not true because I did this assignment right the first time.

After doing this assignment for the second time, I have learned a lot of things I didn’t know before. There are still things I don’t know. However, the reality is no one ever truly knows what they don’t know.

--

--