Music and Workouts

How can music influence the way we work out?

Samantha Stewart
3 min readJan 26, 2016

By Samantha Stewart | Sports Reporter

I can hardly motivate myself to work out most days.

So why do I do it? Every time I go for a run, or step into Bethel University’s Wellness Center, there is immediate regret upon entering the facility. I have the overwhelming desire to head the opposite way. It seems to monotonous to be there. People lifting weights, climbing stair steppers, running treadmills.

Is there even a possible way to enjoy workouts?

According to studies done by the Journal of Kinesiology Research, they have found that music and tempo influences how well workout is performed. It can actually influence brain patterns. Music has a strong motivational pull to how people feel and perform. It sets a good beat to help pace yourself during a run. And this makes sense. Music makes you want to move.

I decided to try this out for myself.

On that Friday afternoon, I decided to bring along my Iphone and headphones to the wellness center to try out the playlists that are offered by Spotify.

I first make the decision to step on the treadmill. As I load up my Spotify, I continue to look around me. I come to the realization that everyone seems to be wearing headphones as well. Why didn’t I realize this before? It seems like such a routine thing to do, I never actually realized how many people wear headphones while working out.

Spotify has a playlist designed for running. “Lets try this out,” I murmur to myself. I click on the playlist. To my surprise, it brings me to a blank screen with a music symbol in the middle. A voice comes into my speakers. “Begin running to set the tempo.” The voice says.

I set the treadmill, and begin to run. It records my tempo. Very cool. I begin running.

As I run, it begins to record my steps per minute. It begins to record my run. 155 steps per minute.I begin to jog. The music changes to what I have listened to in the past. Artists like Fall Out Boy, Porter Robinson, Paramore, and Panic! At the Disco. I find myself concentrating on the music, relaxed as I run.

I decide to try this again while lifting. I select the workout playlist. As I’m lifting, I get excited as songs I know and like come on. ‘Sorry’ by Justin Bieber. ‘Player’ by Tinashe ft. Jai Wolf. ‘Youth’ by Troye Sivan. As the workout continues, I begin to actually enjoy myself. What?! Me, enjoying myself while working out?

As I stepped outside the fitness center that fateful day, I found myself feeling pretty awesome. I finally found a way to enjoy a workout! I have not gone to work out without a trusty pair of headphones in my pocket since.

--

--