Professor Bramsen motions for students to work together to discuss a book in Humanities III. He is a firm believer in discussion and collaboration. After the presidential election, Bramsen held open discussions for his students to circulate thoughts. “Let’s not pretend like it’s not on our minds.”

Professor Project: Andrew Bramsen

Maddie DeBilzan
ROYAL REPORT
Published in
3 min readMar 2, 2017

--

Professor Bramsen must manage his time efficiently to be the best political science professor, Humanities department leader and father as possible.

By Maddie DeBilzan | Sports journalist

Professor Bramsen, head of the Humanities department and political science professor, works diligently in an office tucked away. His shelves are strewn with hundreds of books, his desk is lined with pictures of his family and there is a collection of bobble heads smiling at him from where he sits. It is a busy time for Bramsen. With three kids and one on the way, he’s got his hands full enough. Add a heavy teaching load in the political science department during a time of political tension, plus some Humanities classes to take care of, and — well, that’s a lot of stuff to handle. But perhaps that’s the most surprising thing about the upbeat and cheerful Professor Bramsen: nobody knows how much stress he’s under, because it doesn’t show.

Why Bethel?

“I felt called to be here … to teach, to work with students … My wife and I prayed that we’d end up somewhere like Bethel. Our other option was a Christian college in Tennessee … they didn’t offer me the job, though.”

“Being a missionary kid comes in handy with African politics. You are also more grateful for things … It’s a useful contrast to our schedule-driven society in the west.”

Who do you most admire?

“My parents. I have a lot of respect for them, because they were missionaries. They used their lives to help others…Because of them, I grew up in South Africa…Now I have a different perspective on life than most people do … Being a missionary kid comes in handy with African politics. You are also more grateful for things … It’s a useful contrast to our schedule-driven society in the west.”

“I even flew to Alaska for an interview. I noticed Bethel had an opening, so we came here to check it out and it was the perfect fit.”

Professor Bramsen keeps hundreds and hundreds of books in his office, including this one about Africa, which is where he grew up. He hasn’t read them all, though. “Not even close,” Bramsen said. Not yet, at least.

What brought you to Bethel?

“Well, my wife and I were at Notre Dame, and I was looking everywhere for jobs. I even flew to Alaska for an interview. I noticed Bethel had an opening, so we came here to check it out and it was the perfect fit.”

Did you always see yourself being a professor?

“For a long time, yes. I was dating my wife and working a customer service job … I knew I couldn’t do that for the rest of my career.”

“There’s nothing inherently evil about taking a drink. Let’s encourage students that it’s not wise but give legal people freedom to have a drink on the weekends.”

If you could change one thing about the Bethel covenant, what would it be?

“I would clarify or even eliminate the tobacco and alcohol distinctions. My concern is that they seem to put them alongside things we are told to do as Christians. There’s nothing inherently evil about taking a drink. Let’s encourage students that it’s not wise but give legal people freedom to have a drink on the weekends.”

Do you think chapel should be required?

“No. I heartily agree with Bethel’s policy…It would make students have negative feelings toward chapel.”

What is your dream job?

“Honestly, probably this. I don’t wish to be doing anything else.”

Professor Bramsen offers a thoughtful answer to a student’s question in his Humanities III class. Bramsen enjoys incorporating current world issues such as politics into his class discussions. “I like processing things.”

--

--

Maddie DeBilzan
ROYAL REPORT

Bethel University journalism grad. Cookie dough aficionado. Recovering coffee addict.