The Spring Lake Park Student Newsletter on a laptop. | Photo by Leena Darwish

Stress quota exceeded

Leena Darwish
ROYAL REPORT
Published in
5 min readMay 19, 2023

--

High school junior quits the Spring Lake Park Student Newsletter after his commitments became too much.

By Leena Darwish | Freelance Reporter

Alen Osmanagić texted the SLP Student Newsletter group chat knowing it was his only option. The combination of advanced classes, varsity volleyball and lack of good time management made him feel like the stress would eat him alive if he didn’t quit the SLP Student Newsletter.

“I have made up my mind and I wish to leave the club.” — Alen Osmanagić, high school junior

He took some time to think because he knew what he had to do, so he picked up his phone, went to the club group chat and at 6:55 PM on Mar 20.

Osmanagić wrote, “I have made up my mind and I wish to leave the club.” The stress was just too much to handle.

Alen Osmanagić: Bio Box showing who Alen Osmanagić is and what he is involved in. | Graphic by Leena Darwish

Osmanagić is a junior at Spring Lake Park High School, he is an overachiever. He took two AP classes simultaneously, had a job at Walmart and played varsity volleyball. Everyday while he walks the halls of SLP High School, Osmanagić smiles and greets nearly everyone that passes by. He is often recognized as a collected person with a busy schedule and many priorities. Osmanagić came across the Spring Lake Park Student Newsletter early on while the club was still getting made.

Alen Osmanagić poses for his school yearbook photo at Spring Lake Park High School. | Photo submitted by Alen Osmanagić

“It was promoted in a way that appealed to me,” said Osmanagić. “I like the aspect of writing for a topic.”

With excitement, Osmanagić became a part of the newsletter along with three other members.

Over time, Osmanagić realized the toll his commitments had on him.

Timeline of Alen Osmanagić’s daily class schedule at Spring Lake Park High School. | Graphic by Leena Darwish

“I take German 4, AP Language Arts and Composition, AP World, Pre-Calc and outside of school I work at Walmart,” Osmanagić said. “ And it all goes back to volleyball to be honest.”

Alen Osmanagić playing Volleyball at Spring Lake Park High School at 7:00 PM. | Photo submitted by Alen Osmanagić

When it came to school work he believed he could handle it even if it gots to be too much, however the problem with his time and schedule was volleyball.

“It was stressful because I felt like I had to write my part when I didn’t have time too. At the time I had a lot of work outside with volleyball and I had to also manage my schoolwork.” — Alen Osmanagić, high school junior

Despite the reasonable workload from the newsletter, Osmanagić knew that regardless of how much work he gets from the newsletter, it’s too much to do all at once.

“I can’t put energy into something else if I can’t put energy into myself first if that makes sense. I have to clean myself up first.” — Alen Osmanagić, high school junior

“It was stressful because I felt like I had to write my part when I didn’t have time too,” said Osmanagić. “At the time I had a lot of work outside with volleyball and I had to also manage my schoolwork.”

He must choose. After repeatedly receiving messages in the club group chat about newsletter updates and productivity, Osmanagić really felt the stress and pressure. Not handling the workload is something overachievers have a difficult time coping with.

“I can’t put energy into something else if I can’t put energy into myself first if that makes sense, said Osmanagić. “I have to clean myself up first.” With that understanding, Osmanagić sat down and messaged the founder of the group chat that he can’t do it anymore.

Osmanagićs story is similar to everyone’s story on the newsletter team. The only difference is that they didn’t leave the club. Everyone is in the club for the same reasons, the club has a beneficial meaning for the community and on a personal level, will create diversity of extracurriculars on college resumes and applications.

According to Sofia Arana, co-editor as of January, she liked the club and the boost it would give her transcript. “I joined the newsletter so I could get some more extracurriculars on my transcript. I’m not into any sports, so I needed to pack it with extracurriculars,” Arana said. “And when I heard that the newsletter was starting at my school, I thought it would be for me because I love writing.”

However she shares very similar feelings with Osmanagić when it comes to stress.

“So I do feel a little stressed or I did feel more stressed before because the idea of the newsletter has been around since the beginning of the year, and we still haven’t gotten an issue out. And I feel like that’s because the staff keeps rotating in and out depending on whether or not they actually want to participate. And I feel like they say they are committed but then they realize that they can’t because they have too much, too many classes, and other priorities.” Arana said.

Joie McCarthy, SLP Newsletter writer, also believes that writing can be stressful.

“It could be stressful if others have a bigger workload,” McCarthy said “Writing takes a lot of strength and time due to it being a process.”

With all the members feeling stressed and trying to balance their own with the newsletter, the club has not been able to put out an issue all year. Their only hope is to gain more members or dismantle the club altogether.

Because it’s official, when it comes to all club members … The stress quota has been exceeded.

--

--