Ezekiel Lelinga heads into the final lap of the 2019 MIAC Indoor Track & Field qualifier during his record breaking mile run. Lelinga, a senior captain for the Track & Field team, ran the fastest mile time in Bethel program history. “I was finally able to see everything pay off for me from the training sessions to the competitions. I felt satisfaction. I never believed I was fast until that race.” Lelinga said. Submitted photo | Photo by Dan Huffman

The runner who hates to run

Ezekiel Lelinga hates to run despite the fact that he will graduate from Bethel University as one of the most decorated Track & Field runners to compete for the university.

Chace Gadapee
ROYAL REPORT
Published in
2 min readNov 23, 2020

--

By Chace Gadapee | Sports Writer

Ezekiel Lelinga bent over and placed his hands on his knees, gasping for air as a smile started to creep out from the corner of his mouth. Through the air horns, clapping, bells and whistles Ezekiel only cared about the three neon flashing numbers that would determine if he would be able to compete in the MIAC Indoor Track & Field Championships 2019.

“I hate running. I don’t even like it. I was talked into joining by the coaches and my friends because they saw my love for soccer. I honestly ran just to get to know people and try to build a community around me” — Ezekiel Lelinga, Bethel senior

Ezekiel moved from Kenya to Mounds View, Minnesota going into his junior year of high school. As a kid Ezekiel enjoyed playing soccer with his friends back in Kenya and when he got to Mounds View high school his soccer coaches told him it was too late to join the soccer team.

“I hate running. I don’t even like it. I was talked into joining by the coaches and my friends because they saw my love for soccer. I honestly ran just to get to know people and try to build a community around me” Ezekiel said.

Ezekiel Lelinga begins a race in first place during the 2019 St. Olaf Invitational. Lelinga, a senior captain, ran both Cross Country and Track & Field while competing for Bethel. “I didn’t want running to be an escape but rather a love and passion” Ezekiel said. Submitted Photo | Bethel University Athletics Department

After a successful training camp, his passion for community came to fruition during his first ever competitive mile event. Ezekiel had everything going against him in this race. He was placed in the slowest heat and didn’t necessarily have a strategy going into the race. Through this Ezekiel placed his trust in his preparation and coaches trust in him.

“It’s not so much one particular thing that was said or done that creates confidence…it’s embracing a relational and physically challenging process that creates growth. True race day confidence is the result of lessons learned from previous hard fought pursuits.” Coach Joe Stephens said about Ezekiel's preparation for the mile race.

All of his training and confidence would pay off as Ezekiel ran the mile with a time of 4:18 to allow him to write his name in the Bethel record book with the fastest competitive mile time in program history.

--

--