Blue sky waves overhead in Normandy, where Kleinhuizen brings Herb’s story to him. | SUBMITTED PHOTO

Who you’re writing for

Bethel University new media strategist and magazine free-lance writer Monique Kleinhuizen shares why she writes, what she loves and for the positive impact on who she writes

BETHEL EDITING
Published in
6 min readOct 17, 2017

--

by TATIANA LEE | Reporter

Monique Kleinhuizen always loved words, but never wrote for herself. She grew up in Hartland, Wisconsin, and decided Bethel University was a great college for pursuing her passion for words. Kleinhuizen works for Bethel University as a new media strategist. She writes for the communications and marketing team and freelances about 10 to 15 hours on the side for Edina Magazine, Minnetonka, Saint Croix Valley, Tiger Oak Publications and the Growler. Altogether, Kleinhuizen kicks out about six to eight feature stories a month.

What does your path from high school to now look like?

“I was always really into words in high school. I took every AP English class I could and was constantly reading everything. I had no idea what I wanted to do in college, but always knew I wanted to do something word-related. I was a triple major in journalism, English literature and Spanish at Bethel University. I was on The Clarion team and worked in Admissions as a student. I always had this interest not only in writing, but sort of branded writing. I liked fostering that sort of PR and marketing side of English. Then I went into ministry after Bethel in 2008. I got an internship (and) did not at all want to do ministry. Even in ministry, the communications stuff is where I quickly found myself. Often times, people would ask me ‘Can you proof read this or look over this?’ After that, I moved for my husband’s job in St. Paul and Bethel had a position that seemed to fit. Also, my friend Nicolle (Mackinnon) was an editor and called me up asking me if I wanted to write. I’ve been doing that ever since.”

What does your weekly schedule look like?

“I am here full time, I work 8 to 4:30, but have a little bit of flexibility in my schedule so sometimes I’ll grab an early lunch and do an interview over lunch — that sort of thing. I have to make it work with other people’s schedules and sometimes that’s tough. A lot of what I write about I can do by phone, some of it is even email. I tend to do more writing on the PR and marketing side. It isn’t hard journalism, so when you’re writing a feature story a lot of people are willing to talk.”

What is the trickiest thing about your job?

“There are so many editors in the mix. Tiger Oaks has nine different publications and I’ve written for each of them and each has its own team of editors. Then the Growler has its own set of editors and here at Bethel we have a team across the university. Trying to juggle all of those responsibilities and even style things such as AP Style can be tricky, but it’s fun.”

What is one failure story you have?

“I wrote a couple of stories about a Bethel alumnus and that went great. I was going to write about him again. I was on the verge of it, then he decided to run for governor. This then would’ve made it a politically charged piece. I talked to my editor and ended pulling the plug on it.”

What is one successful story you are proud of?

“There’s been some really cool people I’ve met because of writing. I got to interview a World War II veteran named Herb. He is a really cool guy, and the next year my husband’s company sent us to Normandy and I brought the magazine — he was on the cover story – to him (see photo above).”

Do you have a specific system you follow with each story?

“I have to type everything up once I interview them. I want to get down how they said certain things, and their mannerisms. I transcribe my interviews, then I need an hour, hour and a half, to make it sound pretty. I give it time, then read it over again with fresh eyes.”

“I am a people person. ‘Woo’ is my №1 strength…”

What excites you most about what you do?

“I am a people person. ‘Woo’ is my №1 strength. Walking into a room and sometimes meeting with awkward, difficult people or strange people — and trying to break the ice really quickly and find common ground and make them feel comfortable — is really hard. I think as a Christian, too, recognizing that every person has value and every story is valuable, is really important. I think bringing faith into my craft and how I do that also excites me and is powerful.”

What’s one thing you don’t like about your job?

“There are always really dry assignments. The things you wouldn’t want to write or are difficult to write that might not be interesting to readers. You just turn it around and think positive and hope the next one will be really interesting.”

How do you balance work and stress with your social life?

“My husband and I have this understanding that when we come home we give a couple of hours to work and then have dinner and hangout with each other afterward. We have this balance that works for us.

“I had to write about this drive in theater, so I made a night out of it with my girlfriends. The manager wouldn’t answer the phone ever so I found him and interviewed him quickly for 15 minutes. It was fun because we made a night of it.”

Do you have a mentor or someone who’s been there for you through your journey or life?

“I’ve had teachers who have affirmed my writing, I’ve had individuals in ministry. My journalism professor when I was a student (Phyllis Alsdurf) –she’s always been there for me as a mentor and role model. On my team there are countless of people who have been there for me and edited and shared key information. People like that all along my journey.”

What do you wish you had known when you entered the job market?

“I wish I knew that there was a market out there for freelance work. I also think broadening my understanding of what journalism could be and looked like would’ve been really helpful.”

What do you like more: writing or editing?

“I am a strategic thinker. I really enjoy writing, but I have to know how it’s going to come together overall. I like to write, but I like to have a foot in the overall visuals.”

Do you find yourself writing better because you’re an editor?

“I like to think so. Just little things, like grammar. I thrive on not having errors in my stories.”

What is an important quality for an inspiring writer or editor?

“Curiosity. I think you have to be able to see where there are possibilities under the surface and be willing to follow them. Also, resourcefulness. I can’t tell you how many times I have had to piece together a story. Fact-checking is also key.”

What is one thing you would tell someone going into your field?

“Be above reproach. It’s easy to cut corners — even what passes for journalism these days is sketchy. Make sure context is true and real. Double-check facts, again, is important. There are so many rules, but they’re vital. As writers, we need to be careful about not falling into those traps and staying above reproach.”

Kleinhuizen emphasized her passion for words and people. She spoke so honestly and passionately about her job. I never want to go into a field where I am not learning about people, writing or enjoying what I do. I understand I might hate parts of any job, but overall, I want to have a passion in my life’s work. I liked seeing her love for her work, and that many skills came out of her work.

It was really vital for me to understand that many opportunities could come out of journalism as well as editing. I worry about being successful, but she made it clear that this was not why she picked her job. I fully realize that I should not worry about money, but love what I do instead.

I also took away that there is sketchy journalism out there. Companies and people want to achieve the easy way and not the correct way. As a Christian, it is important to take note of this and try to stay away from poor journalism, especially if you’re putting your name out there.

This interview has been edited and condensed.

--

--