21 Things to Leave Behind in 2020

Learn to let go

Ayodeji Awosika
Better Advice
Published in
8 min readJan 3, 2021

--

The more I learn about self-improvement, the more I understand that much of the process involves subtraction. Instead of focusing on what to do, focus on what not to do, and avoid it. Figure what’s weighing you down so that you can let go of it and move more freely. No need to be hyper-focused all the time, but be mindful of the distractions in your life that suck up all of your energy.

2020 was the year of distractions, weight, and mistakes. A bunch of things went wrong. Our situation hasn’t magically changed just because of an arbitrary date, but I’m a big believer in the power of symbolism. I’ve successfully completed many new years resolutions. While the symbolism isn’t foolproof, it has worked for me and it can work for you.

So, keep your positive resolutions, but also think of some things you can let go of, things you can stop doing, distractions you can pay less attention to, etc. Yes, this is going to be a gimmicky post where I list “21 things” because of the year, but I’ll promise they’ll still be worthwhile recommendations.

Obsession with the news

I get it. You had no choice but to pay attention to the news. With the pandemic and the presidential election, there was just too much at stake not to watch it. Now? The election is over…

--

--

Ayodeji Awosika
Better Advice

Learn how to become a top Medium writer and make a living writing here — https://bit.ly/freemediumcourse4u