3 Things I Wish I Knew About Alcohol Before I Began Drinking

What I know now that I wish I knew then.

Ken Makimsy Middleton
Better Advice
Published in
9 min readDec 15, 2020

--

“Close some doors today. Not because of pride, incapacity or arrogance, but simply because they lead you nowhere.”―Paulo Coelho

When I took my first sip of alcohol in B Suite of Wellons Hall on the campus of the University of North Carolina at Pembroke, I remember having this feeling of euphoria and coming of age that I never had before.

The freedom and sense of confidence that alcohol brought me were brand new. Gone were the feelings of anxiety and self-consciousness, replaced with feelings of excitement and what “could be.”

I felt like I could go up to just about anyone and say anything I wanted while also doing the same. My mind was opened to a new world in which I felt the night was an opportunity of endless possibilities, and there was no telling where it might end.

And from that time forward, alcohol did not let me down. The experiences that I’ve had because of alcohol are some of the most exciting experiences of my life. I have memories of events and situations that probably would’ve never happened had alcohol not been involved.

And now, 21 years later, when I look back, one idea comes to mind when I think about all of it.

--

--

Ken Makimsy Middleton
Better Advice

Alcohol-conscious writer helping people reach their FULL potential in life and their careers. Editor of AINYF | Author of Bamboozled (thebamboozledbook.com)