5 Philosophers on How a Walk Can Boost the Creative Thinking Process

Walking, writing, and inspiration are all intertwined.

Alen Bašić
Better Advice

--

A walk is perhaps one of the most overlooked habits in our society. We are constantly rushing to get from A to B that we forget this. However, some of history’s greatest thinkers all advocated for the necessity of a simple walk.

They regarded it as a way to think clearly, come up with new ideas, and get the mental cogs turning. If there is anyone we should take advice from, on why we should walk, it should be philosophers. Their lives essentially revolved around copious amounts of thinking and writing day in and day out.

This is something many of us struggle with, we’ve been accustomed to constantly being tapped into this world of endless entertainment at our fingertips.

For this reason, our ability to think clearly and focus has slowly been on the decline. Instant gratification is a problem that very few seem to care about. Walking for me has become a way to ground myself in the present to the point where all I’m forced to do is think.

All else fades away and as I focus on the rhythm of my steps, I finally get inspired from the natural world around me — rather than some external stimulus for entertainment.

--

--

Alen Bašić
Better Advice

Harnessing the skill of writing and storytelling to change my life. Join me on my journey of making life more purposeful https://theintrovertedthinker.carrd.co/