7 Things You Need to Know About Making Your Hobby Into Your Job

Everything I want to do matters.

Chris Wojcik
Better Advice

--

Photo from after winning some cash at a team grappling tournament with some friends a few weeks back.

Last week, I quit the last freelance job that I had that wasn’t directly connected to my blogging and martial arts careers.

I said I was going to quit my job in the next 6 months (I even wrote a whole article about it), and then I ended up doing it in 3. I’m really proud of this, and I’m ecstatic that I get to do only the things that I love every single day.

It’s been a long and windy road to get here though, and it definitely hasn’t been easy for me to turn my hobbies into careers that help me pay rent, travel, eat food, and most importantly, grow toward a better future.

Here are 7 lessons I learned from the process of turning my passions into full-time careers.

You will give away a lot of knowledge for free.

This is a hard one for people to do, because everyone is so focused on “knowing their worth” that they forget that what matters is the worth that they can provide for others.

If I started charging people for guitar lessons tomorrow, no one would buy them because, well, I suck at playing the guitar. Even if I scammed someone into buying my guitar lesson course, they would not be likely to stay…

--

--